...

View Full Version : FSB wrong number?



Exis
01-11-2006, 03:26 PM
I ran a 3D Benchmark 05 test, and noticed that my FSB was reported at 206 MHz. Shouldn't it be at 1GHz FSB like my Athlon chip says?

Mobo:
ASUS A8V DELUXE Socket 939 VIA K8T800 Pro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

CPU:
AMD Athlon 64 3500+ Venice 1GHz FSB Socket 939 Processor Model ADA3500BPBOX - Retail

Masterslave
01-11-2006, 06:29 PM
AMD 64 bit had the technology called: Coul 'n Quiet. It downclocks your CPU when you don't need all the MHZ's. You can switch it of in the BIOS.

Exis
01-12-2006, 08:23 PM
I went into my BIOS pre-posting to see if I could tell anything that was wrong there, but everything seemed to be fine. There was no FSB Voltage Control or anything, and I made sure that the Cool n' Quiet was disabled...and it was. The only thing that did confuse me was the HyperTransport technology. It was set at 1000mhz, like its supposed to be, but in the bios it read "HT technology from CPU to AGP" or something like that. I thought I had 1000mhz fsb on the whole thing! Is my system in any way being limited to a 200-ish mhz fsb? I can't seem to find any info on ASUS A8V DELUXE Socket 939 VIA K8T800 Pro ATX AMD Motherboard relating to that 200mhz fsb anywhere!

Masterslave
01-12-2006, 09:04 PM
There isn't FSB anymore with Athlon 64, it's called HTT. This is because in the CPU is now the memorycontroller. Before this was the Northbridge. Your system isn't limited to 200. You can try to load the default settings of your motherboard...

Exis
01-12-2006, 09:35 PM
OOoh :D. That explains alot. I had no idea that HTT was a substitute for the Northbridge. Ok well that makes alot of sense then. Thanks alot for the description. I'll probably research more on this later today.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum