PDA

View Full Version : Setting Register_Globals = On



Serex
01-07-2006, 05:18 AM
Ive just signed up to a new web host, webcentral. They have r_g set to off but i need to use it for my site. I may have posted on here before and i acquired a fix for it but i was unable to find the post again.

If anyone could assist me that would be great.

vinyl-junkie
01-07-2006, 08:16 AM
Is this (http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=72619&highlight=globals) what you're looking for?

If that doesn't work for you, check with your web host. They might have to use some funky way of turning off register_globals for you, same as what I had to go through.

Bill Posters
01-07-2006, 08:51 AM
Rather than open yourself up to a security flaw by having globals on, why not simply tweak your variable references so that they work with globals off?

http://uk2.php.net/register_globals
http://www.zend.com/zend/art/art-sweat4.php

trib4lmaniac
01-07-2006, 12:17 PM
You could

extract($_POST);
extract($_GET);
extract($_COOKIE);
extract($_SESSION);
extract($_SERVER);
extract($_FILES, EXTR_OVERWRITE);
But you're beter off doing what ^ said.

felgall
01-07-2006, 09:57 PM
Any script that doesn't work with register globals off is a lot less secure than one that works with register globals on. It is not like the code changes that are needed are all that difficult.