View Full Version : Formatting a txt file for a Guestbook? *help*

JayStang
01-06-2006, 10:29 PM
Hi guys, i'm new here. I have a question reguarding php. I've never programmed with php before so baer with me here. I have a php file for a guestbook which works great. It reads and writes to a .txt file. When it displays it shows everything with a white background. My question is, would it be possible to make it so every other post has a different color background to make it easier to read? Example. Post1=blue, Post2=White, Post3=Blue, Post4=White...etc. I was thinking maybe an if statement that detects if its a even or odd number post and assign a background color to it. but again i've never programmed in PHP so i have no idea how to go about doing this. Below is a copy of the PHP code that i'm using. Any help would be great.

<?php

// If you are using an old version of php, remove the next set of lines.
// or use $HTTP_POST_VARS["..."] instead.
$Submit = $_POST["Submit"];
$Name = $_POST["Name"];
$Email = $_POST["Email"];
$Website = $_POST["Website"];
$Comments = $_POST["Comments"];
$NumLow = $_REQUEST["NumLow"];
$NumHigh = $_REQUEST["NumHigh"];

// Replace special characters - you can remove the next 5 lines if wanted.
$Name = ereg_replace("[^A-Za-z0-9 ]", "", $Name);
$Comments = ereg_replace("[^A-Za-z0-9 \@\.\/\']", "", $Comments);
$Website = eregi_replace("http://", "", $Website);
$Website = ereg_replace("[^A-Za-z0-9 \@\.\/\'\~\:]", "", $Website);

// Remove slashes.
$Name = stripslashes($Name);
$Email = stripslashes($Email);
$Website = stripslashes($Website);
$Comments = stripslashes($Comments);

// ###################################################################################
// ########## Reading and Writing the new data to the GuestBook Database #############

if ($Submit == "Yes") {
// Next line tells the script which Text file to open.
$filename = "GuestBook.txt";

// Opens up the file declared above for reading

$fp = fopen( $filename,"r");