...

View Full Version : PHP MYSQL and listing in google



mudilik
01-06-2006, 10:09 PM
Hiello everyone, I new to this forum. I have a question that I am unable to find an answer for anywhere online.

On our website potomacelectric.com we have a mysql database with parts that are available for sale, website uses PHP for searching of databese . Users can search for parts via multiple options. Also browse by clicking first letter of the manufacturers name. I was told that google would be able to use these links to cache all pages A..... to Z and this way to allow anyone on google to see what parts we have for sale. [/url] http://www.potomacelectric.com/repairs/parts.php [url] So far google have not cached any pages even though it alredy cached other pages created at the same time. It also cached forum which is also php.

I am looking for someone who can guide me in the right direction on what is not done right and help me get the google to cache all the pages. We will pay a reasonable fee for this help.

Thanks alot in advance

Mark

vinyl-junkie
01-07-2006, 09:25 AM
Welcome to the forum, mudilik. :D

Are you using query strings in your URLs? If so, you will probably fare better with the search engines by using search engine friendly URLs (http://www.sitepoint.com/article/search-engine-friendly-urls).

mudilik
01-07-2006, 07:59 PM
I have posted same question on other PHP forum and I was suggested to change my method from POST to GET and too use google site maps ? What you guys think about it, maybe any other sufgestions ?

arne
01-07-2006, 08:15 PM
Well... it wil help you a little, but you'll still get problems.
If you want help getting all your pages at high ranking in google (and yahoo,..) searches, you can contact me. I'll be glad to help (for a small fee please). You can contact me at arne_dejongh2@hotmail.com (oops, i just gave my email online :p;))

Len Whistler
01-07-2006, 11:27 PM
Welcome to the forum, mudilik. :D

Are you using query strings in your URLs? If so, you will probably fare better with the search engines by using search engine friendly URLs (http://www.sitepoint.com/article/search-engine-friendly-urls).

That article is from August 10th 2001. Google was just a couple of years old at that time, I'm sure things have changed since then.

missing-score
01-08-2006, 01:52 AM
That article is from August 10th 2001. Google was just a couple of years old at that time, I'm sure things have changed since then.
Yeah, google now uses the querystring to index the pages too.

Are you doing any kind of header redirect on that page? If so, that could be why its not being cached.

firepages
01-08-2006, 04:30 AM
I googled some of your OEM part numbers , and mostly got a hit first page but for this http://www.potomacelectric.com/repairs/typelist.htm , so now that you are using GET (and that would have been your biggest problem if you were previously using post) take that list page and add links in there to your a-z list , google will do the rest.

really I think those pages will get indexed eventually anyway.

arne
01-08-2006, 11:54 AM
your pages might get index all, but your ranking at google and other search engines will still be low. You should use some headers and meta tags for robots to start, that will help google to spider your site !



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum