View Full Version : Which shall I?

cgibie
01-04-2006, 12:59 AM
I'm creating a website that is used for friend connections basically like profile listing stuff. So I studied the Database using Ms Access, do you think I should go with ODBC or MySQL using PHP script? I'm very new to this language by the way.

firepages
01-04-2006, 02:04 AM
Most here would suggest MySQL , msaccess is OK if you only have a few users, its awful in a multi-(concurrent)-user environment , also ODBC is about the slowest method of retrieving data, the native MySQL functions (and other DB native functions) are far quicker.

If this is a one-off small project then access is ok, if you want to do more of this sort of work then get stuck into MySQL .. or if you are on a windows platform .NET + SQLServer

Yusayoh
01-04-2006, 02:11 AM
I recommend MySQL. You should also put phpMyAdmin on your server to view the MySQL database online.:thumbsup:

Element
01-04-2006, 04:11 AM
I have expirenced, for some reason, when I had my personal server online, here next to me, that phpMyAdmin wouldn't run on Windows 2003 Possibly it was how I had the system configured, or maybe it just doesn't work on it at all.

MySQL also is what I would recommend its fast, compliant and easy to use.

_Aerospace_Eng_
01-04-2006, 05:29 AM
@Element
So if phpmyadmin didn't work on your server, what did you use to view your mysql? I'm just a bit curious.

Element
01-04-2006, 05:50 AM
Well I could have used Navicat MySQL for Windows, but I only got halfway done until I went on vacation, and when I got back I didn't use the server for web stuff anymore, because I didn't have any net.

_Aerospace_Eng_
01-04-2006, 06:13 AM
Ahh okay. I was just wondering the possibly alternatives for handling mysql on windows.

missing-score
01-04-2006, 06:22 AM
Ahh okay. I was just wondering the possibly alternatives for handling mysql on windows.