...

View Full Version : what memory do I need?



homerUK
12-29-2005, 11:40 AM
Anyone know what memory this needs? Its a barebones QBIC EQ3704S (Soltek motherboard).... here are some pics...

http://www.mattfacer.com/new/1.jpg

http://www.mattfacer.com/new/2.jpg

thanks for any help! :)

firepages
12-29-2005, 04:52 PM
from the looks of things , DDR , what frequency is another question best answered on the mobo's manufacturers product information page , though if you get DDR400 you should be fine.

oracleguy
12-29-2005, 10:27 PM
Yeah PC3200 should do you fine if you aren't sure.

homerUK
12-30-2005, 12:42 AM
thanks guys - I bought some DDR PC3200 and tried that - it didnt work - the hard drive didnt even start up... I assume the memory speed is the problem? The sales man said that it may not work.... is DDR400 slower? I assume I may need to get some very old stuff to try it??

thanks :)

**EDIT: It may be the processor... its an old 750mhz AMD jobby.... socket642 or something... how does one go about testing those to see if they work!?

oracleguy
12-30-2005, 01:00 AM
In most cases if you put faster memory in a system that can't run at that speed, it will just work fine at the lower speed. And if memory serves DDR400 and PC3200 are the same thing, since PC3200 runs at 400mhz so aka DDR400.

homerUK
12-30-2005, 01:03 AM
aaah ok... so chances are it's the process that's kerput......? Might have to find another one of those to try...... nightmare! I thought that if a mobo didnt support the speed of the RAM it would die....!

AEH
12-30-2005, 06:02 AM
Also make sure you get the right type of RAM, don't want to spend lots of $$$ all for nothing. By the chance do you have the manual that came with the Computer or motherboard?

homerUK
12-30-2005, 12:06 PM
I dont have any manuals or anything.... I do have this info which I just managed to find:

QBIC Soltek Miny cube Barebones PC (EQ3704)DDR, UDMA/133, Serial-ATA RAID, Audio, GBit LAN, Firewire, USB 2.0 - Socket A (Athlon, Sempron, Duron) 250Watt Power supply, Case, Case front, PSU, Motherboard and a Soltek mini pci card

firepages
12-30-2005, 12:57 PM
In most cases if you put faster memory in a system that can't run at that speed, it will just work fine at the lower speed. :thumbsup:

The other way around however is not so good :eek:

Does the mobo/case have a speaker ? it really should beep a couple of times (how it beeps describes the problem) if the memory or CPU is bad.

Is the CPU fan turning when you try and start up ?
if not check power supply,
if thats good , reset the bios and try again ,
still nothing ? probably the mobo :(

Darknight
12-30-2005, 01:39 PM
http://www.soltek.de/soltek/product/index.php?catid=3
Look at the bottom right for a list box, your system is in it


memory
# 2 x 184-pin DDR DIMM Sockets.
# Supporting unregistered non-ECC DDR 400/333/266/200 DRAM up to 2GB.

Hope that helps.
DK

homerUK
12-30-2005, 03:11 PM
cool thank you!! I've now tried the memory, CPU and HDD on another mother board and its worked fine.. so no problems there.....
The RAM I used was PC2100... how do I know the speed of this?
Thank you for all your advice :)

JamieR
12-30-2005, 04:35 PM
PC2100 memory runs at 266mhz. PC2700 runs at 333mhz and PC3200 runs at 400mhz.

homerUK
12-30-2005, 06:40 PM
cheers.... I've got a little further now... the HDD now spins... but there is nothing coming up on the screen... the lights on the keyboard dont come on either... its as if its freezing seconds after booting... no monitor, no mouse, no keyboard.... it's driving me mad!!

JamieR
12-30-2005, 06:59 PM
Is this on the same motherboard or a different one? You say above that you tested the components that it worked fine on another board.

homerUK
12-30-2005, 07:02 PM
this is on the barebones mobo that previously wasnt working! its ok now - but will not boot... :(

oracleguy
12-30-2005, 11:49 PM
If you've tested the other components in a different board and it works and the other board with those components won't boot, then the board is probably defective. Motherboards are the component most likely to fail in a computer given that they tie everything together and have the most points of failure.

Darknight
12-31-2005, 06:08 PM
I would recomend reinstalling the BIOS, there is still a chance you have a good MB, and a good BIOS load can bring it back to life.

Also check for a diag tool, some hardware vendors make tools (download) that will test their equipment.

oracleguy
12-31-2005, 11:05 PM
Well if the motherboard won't boot, you can't reflash the BIOS. You could try clearing the CMOS though.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum