View Full Version : Convert a GIF image to a Favicon

12-24-2005, 04:54 PM
Ok, very simple request... I know its just a case of saving as an ico file, but I dont have any programs to do it and to be honest, I cant be bothered to find one. I'll give a couple of dollars to anyone who is willing to convert this to an ico file for me. Just add me on MSN, admin at icdsoftware.com, and I apologise for being so lazy.

12-24-2005, 07:01 PM
There is a prior forum thread (here (http://www.codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=61068&highlight=favicon)) with a link to this page (http://www.chami.com/html-kit/services/favicon/) which will generate a favicon for you.

12-24-2005, 07:02 PM
Cool, cheers.. Error 404 sorted it out for me (it took him about a second lol). Thanks.

12-24-2005, 07:08 PM
Heh, I was just going to do it for you. Kind of in the Christmas spirit. Glad to see it's sorted out.

12-24-2005, 09:52 PM
FF1.5 supports animated favicons of course they need to be in GIF format. I'm not sure if IE supports it though.

12-24-2005, 11:14 PM
That page that I posted the link to makes both a static and animated favicon for you. I made favicons for both my sites using that, and it's pretty cool.

12-24-2005, 11:28 PM
Yeah only mozilla based browsers allow animated favicons.

Animated Favicons
Now for the first time you can create animated favicons with FavIcon from Pics in seconds using any image. Along with the static favicon.ico, it generates a basic optional animation (more animation modes are in the works). Currently the animated favicon is activated in Firefox and other Mozilla-based browsers, while the static favicon.ico is displayed in other browsers.

missing-score do you have Photoshop? There is a .ico plugin you can get to save files as .ico.

12-25-2005, 03:16 AM
Yeah only mozilla based browsers allow animated favicons.

missing-score do you have Photoshop? There is a .ico plugin you can get to save files as .ico.
Yeah I do, but an old version (I barley use it so dont want to spend out on the upgrade). I think I'm using Photoshop 7, but if the plugin works for PS7 that would be great.

12-25-2005, 04:10 AM
You could always try it. http://www.telegraphics.com.au/sw/#icoformat

12-25-2005, 04:39 AM
I use PS7 and the plug-in works fine. As far as I know it's a universal PS plug-in.

12-25-2005, 08:11 PM
If you save the image as a .gif and rename it to .ico, it works just fine.

At least, that's how I've been doing mine for years and I haven't had a problem yet.

12-26-2005, 12:25 AM
Renaming a .gif does work but I don't think it implements the multi-resolution functions of a properly generated .ico (ie, the ability to display differently at 32x32 and 16x16).