...

View Full Version : display:none is this good to use?



Mhtml
10-07-2002, 11:43 AM
Is it ok to use display:none ? To what extent is it supported?

MCookie
10-07-2002, 01:20 PM
According to RichInStyle's bug table it's even supported by NN4 and IE4.
http://www.richinstyle.com/bugs/table.html

realisis
10-07-2002, 02:14 PM
However, in Netscape 4 and in Opera 6 (!), this must be set at runtime, and can't be changed thereafter.

Bosko
10-07-2002, 07:33 PM
Shouldn't that be:
However, in Netscape 4 and in Opera 6 (!), this must be set at designtime, and can't be changed thereafter.

realisis
10-08-2002, 06:15 AM
"runtime" meaning when the page loads and renders initial layout... By using "designtime", you're suggesting the value of the display attribute was hard-coded into the page.

But the value used could instead be the result of a conditional statement, in which case the browser decides the value at runtime.

Unless of course you had tongue in cheek...



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum