PDA

View Full Version : display:none is this good to use?



Mhtml
10-07-2002, 11:43 AM
Is it ok to use display:none ? To what extent is it supported?

MCookie
10-07-2002, 01:20 PM
According to RichInStyle's bug table it's even supported by NN4 and IE4.
http://www.richinstyle.com/bugs/table.html

realisis
10-07-2002, 02:14 PM
However, in Netscape 4 and in Opera 6 (!), this must be set at runtime, and can't be changed thereafter.

Bosko
10-07-2002, 07:33 PM
Shouldn't that be:
However, in Netscape 4 and in Opera 6 (!), this must be set at designtime, and can't be changed thereafter.

realisis
10-08-2002, 06:15 AM
"runtime" meaning when the page loads and renders initial layout... By using "designtime", you're suggesting the value of the display attribute was hard-coded into the page.

But the value used could instead be the result of a conditional statement, in which case the browser decides the value at runtime.

Unless of course you had tongue in cheek...