View Full Version : Does php change dimensions on website?

12-21-2005, 01:15 PM

This is not so much a question about coding as it is about php in itself.
My problem is something I have discovered on my website..
Among others I have two pages on the site and the problem is that some of the boxes seem to move or shrink on one of the pages, but not on the other.

The normal one:
http://www.dingodism.frac.dk <-- here's how it's supposed to look

The wrong one:
http://www.dingodism.frac.dk/ny_artikkel.php <--- and here's the wrong one

Never mind the text - it's danish..
What I want you to notice is that in the wrong one the navigation-box (left) and the poll (right) has been moved slightly compared to the rihgt one.

The only difference between the to pages, is that in the "wrong one" I have placed a php-script that sends a mail, a form and a javascript that validates this form..

Can php-scripts have anithing to do with this problem? And how do I change it?


12-21-2005, 01:25 PM
Can php-scripts have anithing to do with this problem? And how do I change it?


No. PHP only runs on the server.

Rich Pedley
12-21-2005, 01:51 PM
I would suggest you download Firefox and design and test using that, then go back and tweak things for it to look ok in IE.

Presently they both look the same in Firefox, which means it is possibly an IE issue.

12-21-2005, 03:15 PM
It's probably some style rule that's different between the two, or possibly a markup or style error.
You could start by moving the styles out of the page markup to a common external style sheet so you now the styles are identical; added benefit is the reduced bandwidth usage.

See that both pages, markup as well as styles, validate; also, give your pages an appropriate doctype to validate against.

12-21-2005, 05:49 PM
hehe...what? :confused:

I'm not really that experienced in coding so I would be most greatful if you could slow down a bit :thumbsup:

Would it help if I showed the codes somehow?


12-21-2005, 09:49 PM
Off the top of my head I'd take a look at styling the form to have a margin & padding of 0. IE likes to create space inside form elements, depending on how you have them laid out. The style rule would be something like this:

form {
padding : 0;
margin : 0;

12-21-2005, 10:33 PM
The PHP page is missing the doctype, that will without a doubt cause IE to go whacko and use its less than savory border-box model. Add the doctype, problem solved.