View Full Version : Mouse if freezing and or locking up.

12-19-2005, 02:27 AM
I'm having mouse problems. It's a 2-button with the wheel non-usb mouse. I cleaned it out and still a problem.

I erased a bunch of tmp files and unneeded clutter and defragged then I ran updated versions of:

Registry Mechanic
Amust Reg Cleaner

and turned off all start up programs that were not nessecary.

I scanned the processes and all the ones running are the same I had running before the glitch. Most except a few are windows system files.

I then searched for updates for IE FF and WinXP.

I am checking the RAM usage and the majority of the time Im running 60% free if not a little more.

System stats:

2.8 ghz p4
512 megs ram
50 gig hd w/ 20 gig +/- used
win xp home

I then took my mouse driver out and unplugged the mouse and rebooted to let windows find it to reinstall the driver it's self. After that, still the problem.
So I searched for updates for the driver and no dice.
What it's doing:

It will freeze sometimes. Not working at all. Buttons/wheel/nada. Sometimes I can open the start menu and close it and it will be good again. Sometimes I can use the arrows to navigate and it unlocks. Sometuimes it completely locks up. Sopmetimes it skips 'randomly' across the screen and then settles down.

I was running PS this afternoon and it acts as if the buttons might be sticking. It will (on grag) zoom in or out at random. When Im using PS it has more of the tendacy to lock up rather than temporarily freeze. I can still use the keyboard though so I just reboot. Rarely there is the problem that once the desktop loads it happens and I have to reboot and alls good (like now ) for a while (knock on wood). My desktop has no progarams in stalled on it and only 8 icons that are shortcuts so there shouldn't be in uneed ram usage there.

Thinking it could just be the mouse I shut down and attached another of the same type (different brand) and the same thing happens.

What have I not tried, short of putting in more RAM?

12-19-2005, 02:42 PM
Have you tried using another mouse? It could be just that the mouse is faulty...

/ EDIT, Oops didn't read the last line. Perhaps try a USB mouse?

12-19-2005, 10:57 PM
Might be the PS/2 port (or whatever that port is called) on your motherboard being faulty. Looks like you have done well to troubleshoot your problems, so :thumbsup: on that, but the only thing I could think of that has not been tried is a faulty port. Any other problems with your computer? If so, it might be a motherboard-as-a-whole problem...but it might just be that one port. Try using a USB mouse if you have access to one and see if that works out for you. Thats about all I can think of.

12-20-2005, 01:46 AM
Mark & Exis,

thanks for that. I brought up the problem with some of the more hardware oriented guys at work last friday and they were thinking memory. Today I told them the huge list of things I did to try and remedy and/or find the culprit.

A few things I forgot to write on here that I tried were:

Dropping the Graphics Acceleration to NONE.
And when I uninstalled the driver on the mouse and unplugged t and rebooted I forgot to mention that Windows did not recognize there was no mouse attached. In fact it still had a mouse cursor on the screen even with out it attached and no driver installed.

The second I got to that part with them today, they immediatly said try a usb mouse and it sounded like the PS2 Port sounds like it's shot.

I'll swing by somewhere tommorrow or so and pick up a USB mouse and give it a go.

My sytem as a whole doesnt have any problems other than that. And it's like way too clean after this weekends adventure.

I appreciate the look.

12-20-2005, 02:08 AM
haha atleast all that work will mean probaly some added speed ;). I hate those problems, that turn out to be something rather small.

12-20-2005, 08:08 AM
Just to be clear, when the mouse locks up, the keyboard is still fully functional?

12-20-2005, 05:22 PM
Let us know if you still have any of the same (or new) problems with the USB mouse. Oh and if M$ doesn't detect a mouse, there will still be a cursor on the screen when windows loads. The pointer is not part of the input/output device, but its just like a reference point that your mouse moves around, so it will always be there.

12-20-2005, 11:38 PM

So far the keyboard has been fully functional. I got a good crash course on hotkey-ing my way around.


Didn't know that. On 98 I believe, if you diodn't have a mouse plugged in when loaded the driver it would alert you about it. I maybe wrong on that though.

I got me another mouse today actually (usb and spent the extra buck on an optical one because I'm so 2002). There's some stuff I need to do and it was driving me insane enough to make a special trip. So far about 20 minutes of usage and no problems.

I appreciate the ideas. If you see my next post on here full off asteriks you'll know why ;)

12-20-2005, 11:43 PM

On 98 I believe, if you diodn't have a mouse plugged in when loaded the driver it would alert you about it. I maybe wrong on that though.

Nah you are right on that. I do remember back to my 98 days, and having that error/warning thing come up. I guess they just did away with it in XP and figured you would know if you had a mouse attached or not.

03-08-2010, 11:40 PM
Im having basicly the same problem. My mouse is been locking up for the past 2 months and it's been realy annoing. :mad: Many of my tech friends said there was to much memory so i deleted alot. But it's still happening. It's been freezing and randomly sipping across the screen. Sometimes it's so bad that both the mouse AND keyboard completly lock up and i have to shut down my computer to get it back on. :eek: Can someone please tell me another solution to this because I realy don't want to have to buy a new mouse. :confused:

03-09-2010, 03:25 AM
You probably should have started your own thread. Have you taken the same steps that were taken 5 years ago by the OP? What OS are you running? How old is your computer? What kind of mouse do you have? What antivirus do you have? Have you done a scan for both antivirus and spyware?

03-25-2010, 08:32 PM
Putting in more RAM wont work,cleaning registry wont work,from my experience ,changing new usb mouse is what you should try and at the mean time you can try some victual mouse software since your keyboard work very well.

03-26-2010, 06:28 AM
Registry cleaners are way over-hyped, TBH I'd advise against them