...

View Full Version : roaming profiles



itsonlybarney
12-17-2005, 03:21 AM
I'm curious about setting up roaming profiles on my home network and I would like to know how to set them up and any particular software required.

Thanks in advance.

joviyach
12-17-2005, 05:10 AM
Here (http://support.microsoft.com/?kbid=314478) is how you would do it assuming that you're using Windows XP.

itsonlybarney
12-18-2005, 03:19 AM
I know how to change between them but when I try to change to a roaming profile I can't because it is 'dimmed' and I want to know what hardware and software I need to have on my network to enable roaming profiles

oracleguy
12-18-2005, 10:34 PM
As I recall you need to have the computer be a member of a domain or active directory in order to use roaming profiles so that there is a logon server that would store the roaming profile.

itsonlybarney
12-20-2005, 08:15 AM
As I recall you need to have the computer be a member of a domain or active directory in order to use roaming profiles so that there is a logon server that would store the roaming profile.what would I need to do to set that up on my server.

oracleguy
12-20-2005, 08:24 AM
I take it then you are running a version of Windows Server? If so, what version are you using? e.g. 2000, 2003, etc.

itsonlybarney
12-21-2005, 10:46 AM
i don't have any 'server' software. i have 2 computer running winXP Pro and another running win2k Pro.

joviyach
12-21-2005, 03:48 PM
I'm pretty sure you have to have a server (Win2K or Win2K3), and you have to have Active Directory running.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum