View Full Version : what do you think of dell?

12-16-2005, 09:17 PM
The custom dell xps system looks pretty nice, and I would like it for christmas

can anyone tell me if its a good buy for about 3,625

or should i look else where for a custom built computer?

12-16-2005, 11:57 PM
I purchased a Dell about 6 months ago, and returned it after less than a month. It worked great for the first couple of days, but then all of the sudden it started to locking up. First it would do it like once a day, and then it got to be more and more frequent. I suspect it was overheating, but I am not sure to be honest. I do technical support for a living, and I didn't feel like I should have to do it at home too just so I could use my computer. So, I sent it back to them, and surprisingly they didn't argue at all. They gave me my money back without a fight. I ended "newegging" myself a system in the end.

Interestingly enough, when the guy from DHL came to pick the Dell up he says to my wife, "I been picking a lot of these up lately!"

12-17-2005, 12:01 AM
We have a Dell Desktop, a Gateway Desktop and a Gateway laptop and I have never once had to fix the Gateway Desktop in the 4 years that i've had it and the laptop has never had a problem in the past 2 years we've had it. The Dell on the other hand I had to replace the PSU twice and the NIC twice. At work we use all Dells and we had to have a Dell representavie show up and replace the motherboards on several of our Dells because they had leaky capacitors.

12-17-2005, 01:29 AM