View Full Version : auto detech screen size?HELP?

12-09-2005, 12:38 PM
i might be in the wrong place,,cuz the site i know that used this, was done in ASP i think,,but i dont know anything about it...,, ook it would auto detech the screen size and then the page would be formated for best viewing.. i hope this makes sense...


12-09-2005, 12:42 PM
Maybe this (http://www.dynamicdrive.com/dynamicindex9/info3.htm) will help, though idealy your page should be fluid and not require some javascript in order for it to work properly. The page you linked to looks fine at 800x600 res and it looks okay at 1024x768 res as well, and will probably look okay on higher resolutions as well.

12-09-2005, 09:20 PM
that link is my old highschool, the guy who built that name was Justion R, great friend of myne, it was made on Frontpage, and done in only ASP .. like if you type in index.html.. theres nothing.. index.asp.. its the site

oh man i feel so stupid, ok i went to there site.. went to index.asp.. and viewed source.. heres wht i got...

<script language="Javascript">
if (screen.width >= 1024) { document.write("<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='Template/CSS/1024x768.css'>") }
if (screen.width <= 800) { document.write("<link rel='stylesheet' type='text/css' href='Template/CSS/800x600.css'>") }
</head> now thats all i should need right... and i should only have to changed the CSS to html.. cuz i dont no asp or css.. just tiny amounts of java, HTML, and flash (and its script) does vb and c++ help me any

12-09-2005, 09:39 PM
Yeah just change the link to the stylesheet but note some users disabled JS, like myself and your site won't render properly.

12-09-2005, 10:16 PM
Then what would be a good option other then this

Click to enter
800*600 or 1024*768

the sizes are the click to enter link..and most ppl dont even know wht theres is... id like my site to be done in a size between those to... and dont want the ppl to have to scroll to the side just to view it, nor would i want it to take up the full screen if there using 800*600 (how many still use that i wonder)

12-09-2005, 10:29 PM
A fixed layout of 780px wide still looks okay on a 1024x768 resolution. Just make your site fluid, allow it to expand with the users resolution. Don't rely on javascript to redirect users to a site, you are just creating more work for yourself. Like I said JS can be disabled.

12-10-2005, 12:50 AM
what do u mean make it fluid

12-10-2005, 04:31 AM
Use percents for widths rather than pixels.

12-10-2005, 07:03 AM
sample plz.. iv given up html long ago, and just relayed on Frontpage to do the job