...

View Full Version : Need help with coding SEARCH ENGINE



I'm That Dude
12-02-2005, 08:35 PM
Hi, for the past few days i have been trying to code a search engine, simply using scripts i found online, and none seem to work. What i need is a script for a search engine that can go on my site. And i would need instructions on how to enter the data on it, can anyone help? THank You

William

arianhojat
12-02-2005, 08:58 PM
heard this works for google...
assuming your site is already indexed. and dont mind using google aka goign away from your site, to get back into your site.


<form method="GET" action="http://www.google.com/search">
<input type="text" name="query" value="" size="20">
<input type="hidden" name="as_sitesearch" value="www.yoursitename.com">
<input type="submit" value="Google my site">
</form>

I'm That Dude
12-02-2005, 10:55 PM
Thanks for the help!!! im going to try this as soon as i can, and what do you mean by:


assuming your site is already indexed. and dont mind using google aka goign away from your site, to get back into your site.


indexed? as in submitted into google?

and i didnt really understand the second statement in that sentence...
Thanks Again

mark87
12-02-2005, 10:58 PM
It will search the pages Google has already cached from your site.

I think.

It would bring up the same results as searching "keyword site:www.yoursitename.com".

I'm That Dude
12-03-2005, 03:02 AM
Yeah thats not what i was looking for.

Could anyone drop anymore scripts to search keywords or something on your site?

Thank You

Will

pramsey
12-03-2005, 11:05 PM
I tested the google search on our site to show how you can implement google search on your page using iframes. I am able to do what you wanted-make the results appear on your domain.

Please visit this link to see it in action. I made the main scrollbar invisible (all white) since the iframe needs a scrollbar and the page won't look good with 2 scrollbars. And, of course, customize the iframe and the rest of the page to your liking. You can't change the results as they are on google's domain.

http://www.eofficeprofessionals.com/sandbox/googlesearch.asp

Here is the source. Change "eofficeprofessionals.com" to your url.






<style>
body, td, textarea, input, select {
font-family: arial;
font-size: 13px;
color: #444444;
font-weight: bold;
scrollbar-base-color:#FFFFFF;
scrollbar-face-color:#FFFFFF;
scrollbar-arrow-color:#FFFFFF;
scrollbar-shadow-color:#FFFFFF;
scrollbar-track-color:#FFFFFF;
scrollbar-highlight-color:#FFFFFF;
scrollbar-darkshadow-Color:#FFFFFF;

text-align: center;

}


</style>

<TABLE HEIGHT=100% WIDTH=100%><tR><tD VALIGN=TOP>

Search our site using our preferred search tool, Google.



</TD></TR>

<TR>
<TD HEIGHT=800 VALIGN=TOP WIDTH=100%>
<iframe scrolling="auto" allowtransparency=true VALIGN=TOP width=100% HEIGHT=100% NAME="FRAME"
src="http://www.google.com/custom?query=&as_sitesearch=eofficeprofessionals.com" frameborder="0"
scrolling="no"></iframe>

</TD></TR></TABLE>

I'm That Dude
12-04-2005, 05:34 AM
WOOT THANK YOU!!!!! That helped a lot, thanks again.

WIll



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum