...

View Full Version : Need Help to Display Output List in 2 columns



harlequin2k5
12-02-2005, 04:51 AM
ok I've now worked too hard on this site (http://www.suncoastwebdesigns.com/test/susbcba) with css to start using tables *chuckles*

Here's my question -

When I get ready to put up the board members page I would prefer to have the list display in 2 columns instead of just one long list

there are 7 officer titles, one of them being Associate Director - there are 19 AD's so instead of one long output list of 19 AD's I'd prefer to have like 10 in one column and 9 in another

There are 29 board members total

Any thoughts? If this would require an array would someone be able to help me construct one? I've never done one before...

Thanks all!

boko
12-02-2005, 04:59 AM
I feel the same way about my site.;) As far as my knowledge goes, a table is the only way to do it, but I have little experience compared to most people here.

harlequin2k5
12-02-2005, 05:04 AM
Would be nice if you could just make a div where the "overflow" would go into another column instead of scrolling

I know I hate to scroll through a whole page for anything - unless I'm going through a list of prices and I haven't narrowed the search

I just think back to the old days of using MS Publisher and being able to use columns that way...

harlequin2k5
12-02-2005, 05:27 AM
ok here's the list (http://www.suncoastwebdesigns.com/test/susbcba/committees.cfm)

rmedek
12-02-2005, 07:17 AM
The easiest way is to give the <ul> and <li> a fixed width and use floats:


HTML:
<ul>
<li>link item</li>
<li>link item</li>
<li>link item</li>
<li>link item</li>
<li>link item</li>
<li>link item</li>
<li>link item</li>
<li>link item</li>
<li>link item</li>
<li>link item</li>
</ul>

CSS:
ul {
width: 200px;
}

li {
width: 100px;
float: left;
}

From there you can add your margins, padding, style, etc., etc....

Hope this helps…



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum