View Full Version : Networking Question

10-20-2005, 03:45 AM
Hello everyone!

I have the following setup:

2 pc's 1 laptop 1 server :D

the 2 pc's and the laptop are connected via a linksys router
the server and 1 pc (main pc) are connected via a cross over cable as they are both running on a gigabit lan and I didnt want to slow the connection down through a router hence the seperate connection the server gets its own access to the internet through its own ip seperate nic card.
the main pc has 2 nic cards also 1 goes to the router and one goes straight to the server.

on with the question... :thumbsup:

Is there anyway I can connect to the server with the 2nd pc or the laptop through the main pc without connecting the server to the router? or do I have to connect a 3rd nic card to the server and then connect it to the router?

any thoughts? :confused:

Dr. Hansen-Quao
10-20-2005, 01:49 PM
Hi crashid,
Im beginning to wonder what local IP addresses you have assigned to the two pc's that use the router. How about the server? aside its public IP that it uses to browse the net, it must have a local IP in order to talk to the main pc.

My suggestion is that you create different IPs for all the machines(or have your router assign them automatically). eg but give them the ip of the server as the default gateway.
If your main pc can talk to the server and to the router, the rest of the nodes on your network should be able to do the same.

let me know how it goes... :thumbsup:

cnohquao@ashesi.edu.gh :cool:

10-20-2005, 02:11 PM
What's the server actually being used for? If it doesn't have loads of computers accessing it at any one time then it probably doesn't need gig lan -my 2k3 box at home runs fine on 100mbps and provides my domain to 3 computers. I can see why you would want to use gigabit lan on the server however it'd be easier IMO if you plugged all the computers you want to network into the router - I take it you don't have a gigabit router?
If you connect all the computers to the router then you'll save on crossover cable and PCI network cards... :)]

Just a thought.

10-21-2005, 12:38 AM
heck, get a gig router or set up some ftp services between the comps


10-21-2005, 03:40 AM
i personally can't understand why you have the server connected throught one of the PCs and not the router....

i assume you want all computers to access the internet is that is the case why is the server connected to the net and not the router then all computers off the router. if theo other computers on the network need access to the server then they can connect directly to it without using the current computer that is connected directly to the server....

i personally wud have

internet -> router -> then all the computers.....all sharing the internet via the router rather than a single computer.....

10-21-2005, 04:30 AM
Dr. Hansen-Quao:

The 2 PC's and the laptop that are on the router are using:
Main PC
PC 2
Laptop (Wireless) all on subnet
THe Main PC is connecting to the Server with dedicated ip of on subnet and the server is connected to the main PC with a dedicated ip of on subnet


Correct I dont have a gigabit router (I Wish) I wanted to use the gigabit lan as the server is basically my "File server" and my "Web server" I know that I could connect it through the router but I use it to store all my movies and programs and even though there is not much difference in transfer speed there is enough to go through the hastle :)


FTP is how I am doing it now basically was looking to see if there was a better way?


See my reply to Weazels :) The router is connected to the internet as well (the main reason is that the server is on its own dedicated ip and the router is on another which all the other machines are connecting through

Thank you all for replying :) I am curious as to how Dr. Hansen-Quao is suggesting that they see each other maybe an example :)

Again thankyou

Crash1hd :thumbsup:

10-21-2005, 11:53 PM
you should get a gigabit router and use it to connect to the outside world with your server and then have the other router connect to it and create a lan on another IP for the rest of the machines. If all your computers share the same workgroup name they should be able to see eachother, no?