...

View Full Version : need help linking drop-down menu to iframe



bwhitney
10-16-2005, 08:45 PM
I have an HTML doc. with 3 layers (<span>). The first span contains a banner. The 2nd span contains the javascript code for navigational drop-down menus. The 3rd span contains an iframe for the content.

My problem is that I can't get the content to appear in the iframe from the links off the drop down menus.

Can anyone help?
Thanks,
bwhitney

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-16-2005, 09:00 PM
We can't help without code. :rolleyes:

bwhitney
10-16-2005, 09:15 PM
The code is in the attachment called "Index_new.txt"

thank you.
bwhitney

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-16-2005, 09:26 PM
find this

var DissapearDelay=100; // delay before menu folds in
var TakeOverBgColor=1; // Menu frame takes over background color subitem frame
var FirstLineFrame='navig'; // Frame where first level appears
var SecLineFrame='parent'; // Frame where sub levels appear
var DocTargetFrame='parent'; // Frame where target documents appear
var TargetLoc='100';
Change to this

var DissapearDelay=100; // delay before menu folds in
var TakeOverBgColor=1; // Menu frame takes over background color subitem frame
var FirstLineFrame='navig'; // Frame where first level appears
var SecLineFrame='parent'; // Frame where sub levels appear
var DocTargetFrame='IFRAME'; // Frame where target documents appear
var TargetLoc='100';

bwhitney
10-17-2005, 02:41 AM
Thanks for such a quick reply.
:cool: I tried making that simple change but when I click on the one link, I am trying to get working before I go to far and have to change everything, nothing happens. I don't get an error message or a new window or anything. It just stays there as if nothing was done.

Any other suggestions.

bwhitney

_Aerospace_Eng_
10-17-2005, 05:18 AM
It worked when I tried it. Unless you changed the name of your iframe. Names are case sensitive.

bwhitney
10-17-2005, 11:09 AM
I figured it out. For my situation, it turned out to be a combination of the following:

var DissapearDelay=100; // delay before menu folds in
var TakeOverBgColor=1; // Menu frame takes over background color subitem frame
var FirstLineFrame='navig'; // Frame where first level appears
var SecLineFrame='parent'; // Frame where sub levels appear
var DocTargetFrame='IFRAME'; // Frame where target documents appear
var TargetLoc='100';

plus in the menu array i.e.:

Menu1=new Array("Home","javascript:document.IFRAME.location='url';","",0,20,80);

Thanks again for the suggestion and the quick response.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum