...

View Full Version : What mother board do I have to buy for my CPU? [ 56K ]



plutoniumman
09-25-2005, 08:44 PM
I bought an intel P4 CPU a while ago, and two mother boards.
The first mother board didn't support 533 Mhz FSB.
The second board, doesn't support prescott CPU's...

And now before I buy a third one, I want to ask a bunch of pro's on many different web site to find the right mother board.


Here is a pic I took a while ago with most of the CPU's info: (I'll try to get more info)
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v229/yamoo/picture002.jpg



I think the socket type is a 478.


Any help is greatly appreciated :)

plutoniumman
09-25-2005, 09:16 PM
Ok, here's a better picture of the CPU's specs:
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v229/yamoo/cpulow.jpg

JamieR
09-25-2005, 10:45 PM
This is a quick pick - it supports your chip.
http://www2.abit.com.tw/page/en/motherboard/motherboard_detail.php?pMODEL_NAME=IS7-V2&fMTYPE=Socket%20478

plutoniumman
09-25-2005, 11:16 PM
This is a quick pick - it supports your chip.
http://www2.abit.com.tw/page/en/motherboard/motherboard_detail.php?pMODEL_NAME=IS7-V2&fMTYPE=Socket%20478
Yay! A suggestion! :)

So now, I guess I got to narrow it down between the board above, and this board:
http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/bz/



Wich do you think would work best?

JamieR
09-25-2005, 11:31 PM
Well the intel board takes dual channel memory, however in terms of pricing, it's more expensive than the Abit one. There are of course a lot more motherboards around that support your chip.

Also not to be picky but you didn't do much research when you purchased the last two boards did ya? ;)

plutoniumman
09-26-2005, 01:35 AM
Well the intel board takes dual channel memory, however in terms of pricing, it's more expensive than the Abit one. There are of course a lot more motherboards around that support your chip.

Also not to be picky but you didn't do much research when you purchased the last two boards did ya? ;)
Not with the first one :P

But with the second one, I did a LOT more reading & research than the first one.
It didn't say any where that it didn't support prescott CPU's, untill after I bought it >:(

JamieR
09-26-2005, 10:30 AM
Ah well, fair enough. Technically you can take the manurfacturer to court for mis-selling their product ;)

plutoniumman
09-26-2005, 02:16 PM
Ah well, fair enough. Technically you can take the manurfacturer to court for mis-selling their product ;)
Really? Cool!

But after rebates it was only 16 dollars...
I don't think it would be worth it taking some one to court over 16 bucks :P


How do you think this MB would work with the CPU?
http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/rl/index.htm




So far, I'm debating between this board:
http://www2.abit.com.tw/page/en/motherboard/motherboard_detail.php?pMODEL_NAME=IS7-V2&fMTYPE=Socket%20478

And this one:
http://www.intel.com/design/motherbd/rl/index.htm

plutoniumman
10-03-2005, 02:07 PM
My dad found that the Prescott CPU isn't that great of a CPU.
So I'm not going to buy thid Mobo, instead, I'll just get a bundle, what do you think of this here:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1580500&CatId=0

plutoniumman
10-03-2005, 02:22 PM
My dad found that the Prescott CPU isn't that great of a CPU.
So I'm not going to buy thid Mobo, instead, I'll just get a bundle, what do you think of this here:
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1580500&CatId=0
That mother board doesn't support the CPU incleded with it... So how 'bout this one:?

http://www.tigerdirect.com/applications/SearchTools/item-details.asp?EdpNo=1539411&CatId=0

oracleguy
10-03-2005, 06:58 PM
You realize that a lot of motherboards that don't support Prescott CPUs out of the box usually will after you update the BIOS? The system should still boot with the Prescott even though it isn't support, it just won't run at the correct clock speed until it is re-flashed.

You'd have to check the site for the motherboard to see if a BIOS update adds the support or not.

plutoniumman
10-04-2005, 02:08 AM
You realize that a lot of motherboards that don't support Prescott CPUs out of the box usually will after you update the BIOS? The system should still boot with the Prescott even though it isn't support, it just won't run at the correct clock speed until it is re-flashed.

You'd have to check the site for the motherboard to see if a BIOS update adds the support or not.
If the computer won't boot, how would I update the BIOS?

I REALLY hope that some how updating the BIOS will help...



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum