...

View Full Version : HOw to create a row of expanding menus?



spunky844
09-21-2005, 09:06 PM
I'm having trouble getting each column of expanding menus in the row to expand. It seems that the first column works find but the others do not. I through up an example at:

http://www.awhurst.com/notworkin.html

I'm a little perplexed.

is there just a little bit of code to change or should i slap in copies of the java code in the <head> area with menu2, menu3, and menu4. But if I do that it doesn't work. Is there a way possibly to put all the actions into one event handler?

Thanks to anyone who responds.

Spunky844 out... :thumbsup:

a_leon
09-21-2005, 09:32 PM
From what I'm seeing, I think your best bet would be to loop through the ul tags rather than just grabbing it by the id 'menu'.

But I didn't spend too much time really looking at everything...

spunky844
09-22-2005, 03:29 AM
What would the looping code look like?

loop

end loop

it's been a while since I took that java class.

a_leon
09-22-2005, 11:50 AM
Something like...


var iList = document.getElementsByTagName("ul");
for (u = 0; u < iList.length; u ++) {

menus = iList.item(u);
}

So rather than calling document.getElementById("menu"), you would call iList.item(u) or iList[u]. Whichever you prefer.

But remember, you would have to have any code using the document.getElementById("menu") to be inside of the loop.


Hope this helps.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum