...

View Full Version : wi-fi help



dw5304
09-11-2005, 11:07 PM
i have recently bought a wi-fi router and wi-fi connection cards for the network here and i am having some problems connectiong to the router its asking for a wep key. I dont know why it has one. I ran the setup for the linksys and it said every thing was fine. i put one of the cards in a remote computer and i found the network of which it was installed on only one there. I left it blank in hope of having the wireless conntroller connect to it. it did but under the linksys program it says that there is no acess to the internet. if found the hotspot and nothing else. where do i go from here? is there a way to get the wep form the wireless router? Or what do i have to do to get this working properly?

any help will be appresiated

JamieR
09-11-2005, 11:49 PM
WEP is wireless encryption protocol - a security technique. Make sure that you have it turned off in the admin panel of your router so that it's an unsecured wireless network - then see if you can connect. If so, problem solved and if you want security, you'll have to have a good look at configuring it. I think on some routers by default, WEP is enabled.

dw5304
09-12-2005, 12:05 AM
hey thank you for you information. i really apprecate it. but can i just have microsoft networking use it insted of linksys? or is this not possable?

Spookster
09-12-2005, 03:03 AM
hey thank you for you information. i really apprecate it. but can i just have microsoft networking use it insted of linksys? or is this not possable?


I think what you mean is can you have Microsoft manage the connection verses the software that comes with the linksys card? If so then the answer is yes. Whether you use Microsoft to manage it or the Linksys software you will still want to use WEP. You do not want to run an unsecure wireless network.

WEP is pretty easy to configure. In your router just log into it and set a WEP key. Usually your router will generate one for you based on a passphrase or just generate the key(s). In either case generate the WEP key and then write it down and on the PC/Laptop you are wanting to connect to the network you will type in that WEP key in the configuration for that wireless card.

mark87
09-12-2005, 01:57 PM
Should be a default WEP key? It'll probably say in the manual.

I think the Linksys default is 'admin'.

dw5304
09-12-2005, 11:37 PM
do the linksys and microsoft networking allow me to use the wireless card any where there is a hot point? The person who is getting this will be traveling alot from hotel to hotel. just want to make shure it will work w/ there systems.

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-13-2005, 12:06 AM
Yes the wireless card should detect any available wireless network. Its just a matter of connecting to it. Most hotels that have high speed access have wireless access points and for the people who need land lines they have ethernet cables.

JamieR
09-13-2005, 12:16 AM
Should be a default WEP key? It'll probably say in the manual.

I think the Linksys default is 'admin'.

that's the default admin password of most routers, however isn't the WEP key generated using the admin password as input?

_Aerospace_Eng_
09-13-2005, 12:18 AM
that's the default admin password of most routers, however isn't the WEP key generated using the admin password as input?
Not normally because routers can have multiple wep keys. There are generators out there or you could just use a passphrase. The admin password is just used to log into the router but a WEP key if enabled is needed to be on the net.

dw5304
09-14-2005, 04:18 PM
thanks everyone for helping me with this wep problem. I had to go and reset the wireless router. and then recongifered it so it works the propper way. thanks agin

dw5304 :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum