...

View Full Version : Can tables be positioned on the fly?



tired&lonely
09-25-2002, 12:32 PM
Ok, this is probably a really stupid question, but... Is there a way to have a table inserted multiple times in a webpage ON THE FLY (that is, as the webpage is loaded)? For instance, suppose we have a table like this, and a body of code which FOLLOWS it:

<table id="blah"> {a bunch of text and other stuff} </table>

<body>
content
content
content
{insert first instance of table "blah"}
content
content
content
{insert second instance of table "blah"}
content
content
{insert third instance of table "blah"}
etc. etc.
</body>


:confused:

jkd
09-25-2002, 04:26 PM
You can't clone it with HTML alone.

Either you'll need to use a server side language like php:

<body>
content
content
<?php echo "$tablestuff";?>
content
content
<?php echo "$tablestuff";?>
content
content
<?php echo "$tablestuff";?>
</body>

Or use DOM1 cloneNode(true), and appendChild() on page load, but that is IE5+/NS6+-only for now.

tired&lonely
09-25-2002, 08:36 PM
Thanks, jkd. Are these then the only two solutions if I just want to insert ONE instance of the table (I'm trying to try to make this compatible with pre-IE5+/NS6)? In other words, other than using relative positioning (which would render a blank space where the table was coded within the source code), is there any way to have a table rendered in a different place than were it was coded within the source code? For instance:

Say, the source code would have THIS order:

<body>
<table id="blah"> {a bunch of text and other stuff} </table>
content
content
content
content
content
content
</body>


But then the webpage would look like this:

<body>
content
content
content
<table id="blah"> {a bunch of text and other stuff} </table>
content
content
content
</body>


:confused:



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum