...

View Full Version : Cloaking URL?



angst
09-08-2005, 11:35 PM
Hello,
ok, I've build a link directory, and categories, sub-categories, and optional additional categories with in those.

I make a script to read all of these and make folders using the cat & sub-cat names and generated index.php files within them all.

this was to make linking simpler for users linking back to the site.

so how insted of
index?page=list?cid=1&scid=23&ascid=11
they just see:
http://localhost/links/canada/videogames/

only problem is that when I go to http://localhost/links/canada/videogames/,
right away it change in the address bar back to that long messy querystring.

is there a way to make it show as only ?http://localhost/links/canada/videogames/

and if so, could some one please show me an example of show this can be done?

thanks in advance for your time!
-Ken

mypointofview
09-10-2005, 08:33 AM
Usually URLs are given out like www.mydomain.com/page and eithter "page" is a folder (so the writing was not correct because the last slash was missing) or "page" was (usually) a html page so the URL would then also actually not have been correct, because the .html was missing.

Yet thanks to intelligent browsers, the end the user always gets to an "index.html" file inside the "page" folder or to the "page.html" file.

HOWEVER: with php - for me - this aint working :eek:

I like it how the apple.com site does it.. they never show any ".php" stuff.

I'm thinking for the end user now -- like transmitting an URL quickly through an advertisement or over the phone...

So, how to accomplish this visitor friendlyness, yet using php ?

e-Raser
09-10-2005, 12:20 PM
That doesn't use PHP, it uses mod_rewrite in .htaccess
http://zulumonkey.com/?id=tutorials&page=comment&oid=75



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum