...

View Full Version : Single Frames Not Working in Netscape



Kimmie
09-24-2002, 10:18 PM
Hello!

I have a question. I have Netscape Communicator 4.79, and I'm trying to load a page with a single frame on it, so it "looks" like any other regular page. I know it sounds kinda silly do want to do this, but I'm trying to make a shorter URL for a personal web forum I have.

Instead of a long address like this:

http://www.mywebsite.com/cgi-bin/boardname/mainboard.cgi

I want a shoter address like this on the same site:

http://www.mywebsite.com/forums.html

I've found out that if I create a "board.html" page that is just a single frame, and have the frame load the actual URL of my board, I get a "masked" URL shortcut. This is the example script I used:

--------------------------------------

<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>Welcome to My Forums</TITLE>
</HEAD>

<FRAMESET COLS="100%" ROWS="100%">
<FRAME NAME="forums" SRC="http://www.mywebsite/cgi-bin/boardname/board.cgi" SCROLLING="AUTO" NORESIZE>
</FRAMESET>

<NOFRAMES>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="REFRESH" CONTENT="0; URL=http://www.mywebsite/cgi-bin/boardname/board.cgi" TARGET="_top">
</NOFRAMES>

</HTML>

--------------------------------------

I know I can always redirect from one page to another, but I want to hide the actual URL if possible. My webhost currently doesn't offer subdomains, which is a shame, since forums.mywebsite.com would be so nice. Anyway, that single frame script works great in Internet Explorer, but not in Netscape Communicator (gee, what a shocker there, eh?). :rolleyes: It just loads up blank in Netscape. Is there a way to do this? Or is there an alternative method?

Any help is appreciated!
-- Kimmie :)

Nightfire
09-24-2002, 11:46 PM
<HTML>
<HEAD>
<TITLE>Welcome to My Forums</TITLE>
</HEAD>

<FRAMESET ROWS="1,*" frameborder="0" border="0">
<frame name="blank" src="about:blank" scrolling="no" noresize>
<FRAME NAME="forums" SRC="http://www.mywebsite/cgi-bin/boardname/board.cgi" SCROLLING="AUTO" NORESIZE>
</FRAMESET>

<NOFRAMES>
<META HTTP-EQUIV="REFRESH" CONTENT="0; URL=http://www.mywebsite/cgi-bin/boardname/board.cgi" TARGET="_top">
</NOFRAMES>

</HTML>

Frames need more than one page, otherwise it isn't frames. It didn't work in NS as it was invalid html you was doing, even what I've showed you is invalid too.

realisis
09-24-2002, 11:57 PM
Kimmie: I believe the actual problem with your original code is twofold:

1) you can't expect to have only one frame, and then define BOTH cols AND rows - choose one or the other...

2) I seem to remember (but can't verify right now cuz I'm at work) that NS4 requires the <NOFRAMES> content to be included *before* the closing </frameset> tag - otherwise it displays... nothing.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum