...

View Full Version : AGP bus problems?



Exis
09-05-2005, 03:49 AM
I am running an MSI KT4VL (MS-6712) and I guess my AGP bus settings are set for 0x AGP. My video card is the Radeon 9600 series, and I would really like to get that going before my upgrade card arives (Radeon X800 Pro).

In the bios, the AGP timing is set to Auto and I can't change that manually, so that sux. Catalyst Control center is also not letting me change a thing, because once I change the values in Smart Gart and restart, the values are reading 0 again. I have updated all my bios and driver specifications for these hardware items, and nothing seems to be working. WTF! Any ideas on what is going on and how i can fix this!? I really want to have my AGP working at its full specs!

oracleguy
09-06-2005, 04:12 AM
Well, if it was running at 0x then you'd have no video since it would mean that there was zero bandwidth on the AGP bus.

Can you explain more on where you are seeing it saying it running at 0x?

JamieR
09-06-2005, 04:54 PM
--edit...didn't read first post properly-

Exis
09-06-2005, 05:32 PM
In the BIOS itself it reads an unchangable "Automatic" setting, but in the Catalyst Software (ATIs video settings program if you are unfamiliar) it reads that AGP is set at 0x. I think maybe this means that it is currently not using any A of the AGP, but simply putting out a small amount of video. There are 4 other options that I can enable (AGP read, AGP write, and 2 PCI options, but i forgot what they were).

Anyway, a program called S.M.A.R.T. GART has to run and test the settings if they are changed to see if they work upon restarting my machine. When I optimize the settings and restart, they all appear at 0 or off again! I don't know WTF is going on, but I really hope my card is fully working. I just can't tell!

Got any ideas?

oracleguy
09-06-2005, 06:50 PM
Have you checked MSI's website for an updated BIOS? It is certainly possible there is some sort of bug or incompatibility (on the BIOS side) with your current gfx card that is causing the problem.

However the possibility also exists that it is running at the correct speed and it is just reading it wrong.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum