...

View Full Version : dos install



dw5304
09-03-2005, 12:28 AM
hey there everyone. was wondering how to install ms-dos onto a computer. I dont want windows to load on start-up. Im going back in time to check some things out.
i have a blank hd and just cant seem to install dos. Do they still make a setup disk? if so do you know where i can find one.

thanks agin.

JamieR
09-03-2005, 12:48 AM
If I remember correctly, MS-DOS came on floppies.

dw5304
09-03-2005, 01:03 AM
i have tryed searching the web for dos set up disk's and all thats comes up is dos boot disks.... hum.. where can i find one. just love going back in time to a os that cant be broken into,as long as there is no internet or telnet.

oracleguy
09-05-2005, 12:42 AM
Now, what kind of computer are you installing it onto? If the computer is too new, it might not work properly, I dunno.

A DOS boot disk should be enough to get a computer going, there really isn't much to the OS. Just boot up on the flopppy, partition and format your hard drive, then do:

sys c:

and you should be all set to boot of the hard drive



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum