...

View Full Version : most of my scripts just stoped working!



sir pannels
06-24-2002, 03:21 PM
hey,
ok so on my host all the sudden most of my perl stoped work..alone with server side includes and one or two php files....is this something ive done? the only thing i done recently is added a htpasswd file to one of the dirs but not in cgi-bin..but now the scripts in cgi-bin either dont work or give file lock errrors and stuff.
err and the includes just say error trying to reach directive etc
anyideas anyone? is this me or the host or what? and what can I do?
thanks alot:)
sir p

Spookster
06-24-2002, 07:10 PM
Your webhost maybe upgraded something or changed the configuration of the server. Mine just did that recently without warning and cause many people heartaches when their PHP/mySQL applications stopped working properly.

sir pannels
06-24-2002, 07:28 PM
ok cool,
wil I have to changed anything or should it short itself out?
cheers
sir p

Spookster
06-24-2002, 11:43 PM
I would contact your webhosts techsupport and find out if they had changed anything first. Check permissions on your cgi-bin and check to make sure they didn't change the the path to the perl engine.

Can you run any perl scripts whatsoever? Try a simple perl script such as just printing out a string. That would help to narrow down what the problem is.

Feyd
06-25-2002, 12:11 AM
Based on the error your SSIs are throwing up, it could very well be that your password protection has caused this to happen (note that you can get 500 errors with errors in your htaccess instead of the standard 403). Is anything that you are running trying to access a directory that contains the htaccess/htpasswd file (if your htpasswd file is in any web accessible directories, I'm going to hurt you :) )?

Easy way is to rename your htaccess to bak.htaccess and run something and see what happens...I'm not saying this is definitely the root of your problem, just the possibility. And if your host is upgrading something, you should have gotten some type of notice from them (if they were a host that realized they worked for you), but you should definitely contact them, as has been pointed out.

Spookster
06-25-2002, 01:23 AM
Originally posted by Feyd
And if your host is upgrading something, you should have gotten some type of notice from them (if they were a host that realized they worked for you), but you should definitely contact them, as has been pointed out.

Somebody needs to tell my host that. They took the servers down to install a patch for that security hole in apache and then said hey while we are at it let's upgrade php and mysql and everything else.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum