...

View Full Version : IE Hackery Help



gsnedders
08-19-2005, 04:45 PM
It's come to my attention that my blog (http://blog.geoffers.uni.cc/) now looks rather dilapidated in IE6/Win, anyone mind helping me out? I think it's mostly due to IE6 putting padding on the outside of the width.

Correct Rendering:
http://blog.geoffers.uni.cc/correct.jpg

IE Rendering:
http://blog.geoffers.uni.cc/ietop.jpg
http://blog.geoffers.uni.cc/iebottom.jpg

NancyJ
08-19-2005, 05:07 PM
hey geoffers, did you want me the other day? I was having my tea and you were offline when I got back

Tristan Gray
08-19-2005, 06:47 PM
My life is so boring I had to fake that this board was like a Soap Opera and something sexy was going to happen between Nancy and Error404.

"Did you want me the other day?"

*grabs shoulders and roughly pins him down in the arm-chair*

gsnedders
08-19-2005, 07:12 PM
My life is so boring I had to fake that this board was like a Soap Opera and something sexy was going to happen between Nancy and Error404.

"Did you want me the other day?"

*grabs shoulders and roughly pins him down in the arm-chair*
Only problem is there is no member of this board called Error404...

NancyJ
08-19-2005, 07:12 PM
oh behave! I dont know where you're from but round here that sort of thing's illegal!

Tristan Gray
08-19-2005, 07:16 PM
I'm from Canada, and all is permitted!

But seriously folks, what is your blog supposed to look like? It displays readably for me, but has no side panel.

EDIT: Nevermind, it is ugly. The banner image does not take up the whole content div thingy. I'll look at it in firefox and then see.

NancyJ
08-19-2005, 07:26 PM
IN FF the banner fits, it just needs the width adjusting for ie. Usually I go with adding *width: iewidth px; underneath the regular width definition

Tristan Gray
08-19-2005, 08:36 PM
I usually redo my design if this occurs because usually I find that if I have to hack my page to make it display properly it means that I am generating the layout in not the simplest form and the error could likely be solved by using a smarter design.

I really hate hacks.

NancyJ
08-19-2005, 08:57 PM
I hate hacks too and I rarely have to use them - havent encountered the padding width ie problem in ages but sometimes ie just needs a nudge in the right direction or needs wiggling to do something that it cant

gsnedders
08-20-2005, 01:42 AM
Can anyone help me though?

_Aerospace_Eng_
08-20-2005, 01:51 AM
It seems to me that people don't realize that padding counts for overall width! On top of that IE reads it wrong. It will give something like a double margin/padding. Try adding display:inline; to the CSS for #sidebar. In actuality I would do your site a bit different. http://bonrouge.com/2c-hf-fixed.php same concept, but the sidebar comes before the content and the content is given enough right margin to clear the width of the sidebar that would be floated to the right. This http://www.brunildo.org/test/ seems to be useful when it comes to layouts and hacks and other css tests among browsers.

gsnedders
08-20-2005, 02:18 AM
It seems to me that people don't realize that padding counts for overall width! On top of that IE reads it wrong. It will give something like a double margin/padding. Try adding display:inline; to the CSS for #sidebar. In actuality I would do your site a bit different. http://bonrouge.com/2c-hf-fixed.php same concept, but the sidebar comes before the content and the content is given enough right margin to clear the width of the sidebar that would be floated to the right. This http://www.brunildo.org/test/ seems to be useful when it comes to layouts and hacks and other css tests among browsers.
I think it's more to do with me confusing what is the standard and what IE does :( Well, I've managed to do some hacking away at it, and I've got the container to the right width (it's 650px, despite the CSS saying it's only 610px...). The display:inline; didn't help.

gsnedders
08-20-2005, 02:27 AM
OK, after putting in IE only borders to show the outline of the divs, I came across something very stupid, one line is exceeding the width, and stopping the floating from happening.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum