...

View Full Version : dynamically create table rows onChange of select drop-down menu



crmpicco
08-18-2005, 02:10 PM
I have this form setup, is there a way that i can have
a drop down menu with values 1-15 that will change the value of
a when changed and create the correct number of table rows?



<form name="form">
<table>
<tr><td><font class="font_heading">Mini Rules Administration</font></td></tr>
</table>
<table>
<% for a = 1 to 6 %>
<tr>
<td><font class="font">Rule Heading</font></td>
<td><input type="text" name="mini_heading" size="10" maxlength="1000"></td>
<td><font class="font">Rule Content</font></td>
<td><input type="text" name="mini_content" size="10" maxlength="1000"></td>
</tr>
<% next %>
</table>
</form>

miranda
08-18-2005, 04:36 PM
I am not sure that I understand where the values in the drop down are coming from. Are they from a database table? Is the number of a determined by the number of results returned from a query on a database? Or is this determined some other way? You need to be more specific if you want some help.

NancyJ
08-18-2005, 04:54 PM
Are you wanting this to happen as soon as the number is selected or with a form submit?
If you're using a form submit just replace a with request.form("nameofdropdown")

If you want it to happen automatically you'll need to use javascript to either rewrite the page or submit the form then you can carry on as above



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum