View Full Version : Animated gif layers

09-22-2002, 12:49 PM

I need some assistance with placing an animated gif over a still image, "third2.gif". How could I change this, so that the animated gif can be positioned over the still gif.

Below is the code which displays the still image, "

<td width="25%" valign="top"><p><a href="frameset/index.html" onmouseover="setCell('textcell',MO_text['arts_trust'],'mousetext')" onmouseout="javascript:displaylogo()"><img src="third2.gif" border="0"></a></td>

I hope this makes sense. Can anyone help?


Mr J
09-22-2002, 01:32 PM
Is the animated gif replacing the still image?


Is the still image still seen under the animated gif?

09-22-2002, 08:41 PM
I dont't know exactly what your scripting says, simply because I mostly modify scripts.(Need a script writer lol! to many ideas!)

But you can run a transparent animated gif over any background image in one of two ways.
1. place your gif in a table and use your background image as the table background.
2.For javascript puposes you can place each in a div tag and position your bg first in your source then the gif which will allow it to ride on top.
You can find examples of this at http://www.freewebs.com/dhcs/index.html

If you have an IE browser everything should work fine if not I'm not sure all aspects will work. But visit graphics magic and funmail forms.
To see these examples.

09-23-2002, 03:37 AM

Thanks for your responses. Sorry if I didn't make myself clear. I want the animated gif, "cogs.gif" to appear ontop of the still gif. I want both images to be displayed. Is there a way of doing this, using layers.

Take a look at http://homepages.ihug.co.nz/~usateden/panacea/entry2.htm . I'd like the animated image to be displayed over the "organisation" piece of the artists pallette.


09-23-2002, 07:18 AM
hi allyson...

Here's a possibility: skip the fancy stuff and just preload an additional menu image with the animation and the original, just the way you want them; then a simple image rollover should give you the effect you want.

You could use scripting to juxtapose two separate images, but, to cover NS4, there'd be some code involved (=Layers).