...

View Full Version : Add Option to Select Box



dj5md
08-11-2005, 06:35 PM
:confused:
How would I be able to add an option within a child window and have it update the appropriate selct box without having to refresh the parent page?

I'm not a java expert so something like this?

document.forms['testform'].testselect.options = new Option('new text','new value');

Please explain.

Thanks in advance!!

vwphillips
08-11-2005, 07:25 PM
<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

<html>

<head>
<title></title>
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--


function OptionAdd(id){
if (!vic){ return }
obj=document.getElementById(id);
if (obj.value.replace(/\s/g,'')!=''){
vic.AddOption(obj.value)
vic.focus();
}
}
//-->
</script>
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--
// Script produced with PopUpGenerator
// by Vic Phillips http://www.vicsjavascripts.org.uk

// Insert this script between the <header> tags

var vic=null;

function pugNewWindow(pugname,puglink){
pugCloseWin();

if (pugname==vic){
vic=window.open(puglink,'vic','width=300,height=200,left=50,top=50,location=yes,menubar=yes,resizabl e=yes,status=yes,scrollbars=yes,toolbar=yes');
}
}

function pugCloseWin(){
// Recommended - include onunload="pugCloseWin();" in the <body> tag.
if (vic&&!vic.closed){ vic.close(); }
}


//-->
</script>




</head>

<body onunload="pugCloseWin();">
<input type="button" value="Open PopUp" onclick="pugNewWindow(vic,'po1.htm');"
<br>
<input id="ip" type="text" size=10 >
<input type="button" name="" value="ADD" onclick="OptionAdd('ip');" >

</body>

</html>


po1.htm


<!DOCTYPE HTML PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD HTML 4.01 Transitional//EN"
"http://www.w3.org/TR/html4/loose.dtd">

<html>

<head>
<title></title>
<script language="JavaScript" type="text/javascript">
<!--

function AddOption(txt){
sel=document.getElementById('fred');
sel.options[sel.options.length]=new Option(txt,txt,true,true);
sel.selectedIndex=0;
}

//-->
</script>
</head>

<body>
<select id="fred" >
<option >Tom</option>
<option >Dick</option>
</select>

</body>

</html>

Johnny Lang
08-11-2005, 07:29 PM
The code for inserting a new option in a main document select list must be part of the main document, but is called from the pop-up window:

Main document:


<HTML>
<Head>
<Script Language=JavaScript>

var tmpWin = "";

function popWin(){

tmpWin = window.open('pop1.html',"");
}

function insertOpt(nData){

nOption = document.createElement('option');
isData = document.createTextNode(nData);
nOption.setAttribute('value',nData);
nOption.appendChild(isData);
isList = document.forms.formcost.service;
isList.appendChild(nOption);
}

function dispVal(isVal){

alert(isVal);
}

</Script>
</Head>
<Body>
<Form name='formcost'>
<Select name='service' onchange="dispVal(this.value)">
<option value='0' selected> Make a selection </option>
<option value='1' > Text 1 </option>
<option value='2' > Text 2 </option>
</Select>
</Form>
<input type=button value="Open Window" onclick="popWin()"><br><br>
</Body>
</HTML>

pop1.html:


<HTML>
<Head>
<Script Language=JavaScript>

function newOpt(){

opener.insertOpt("Apple");
opener.insertOpt("Pear");
self.close();
}

</Script>
</Head>
<Body>
<input type=button value="Add Options" onclick="newOpt()"><br><br>
</Body>
</HTML>



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum