View Full Version : Add a Year to a Date

frogoth
08-10-2005, 08:35 PM
I have a form with an <input> initialDate (mm/dd/yyyy).
Later in the same form the initialDate auto-populates an <input> expireDate.
That's it. My user must manually change the year portion from 2005 to 2006.

I want the expireDate to auto-populate with the initialDate, but 1 year out.

I have been unable to find javascript to do that. :( Can anyone help?

Brandoe85
08-10-2005, 08:41 PM
You could get the current year and then add 1 to it:

var date = new Date();
var endYear = date.getFullYear()+1;

Good luck

frogoth
08-10-2005, 09:03 PM
Thanks Brando! :)

Let's say I am a relative newbie to javascript. Right!
Where would I put your bit of wisdom?

Sample code as it currently works without the additional year:
<form action="updateLog.cfm" method="post" name="logForm" onSubmit="return validate_form();">
<input type="text" value="" name="initialDate">
<input type="text" value="" name="expireDate" onFocus="if (this.value == ''){this.value=(initialDate.value)}"

I hope I can still use your code.

Brandoe85
08-10-2005, 09:28 PM
You can just add that right in however you'd like:

<input type="text" value="" name="expireDate" onFocus="var date = new Date(); if (this.value == ''){this.value = date.getFullYear()+1}"

Good luck

frogoth
08-10-2005, 09:59 PM
Yippee! It works!

But, it only gives me the Year. I guess I need to make my requests clearer.
Sorry! :D

The initialDate is mm/dd/yyyy (i.e., 08/10/2005), and
the expireDate should also be mm/dd/yyyy (i.e., 08/10/2006)

Brandoe85
08-10-2005, 10:17 PM
Where is the inital date coming from? Is it just todays date? or is it entered in, generated from the server?

Willy Duitt
08-10-2005, 10:25 PM
Try this:

<script type="text/javascript">
function addYear(date){
var date = date.split('/');
date[2] = date[2]/1+1;
return date.join('/');
}
</script>
</head>

<body>
<form>
<input type="text" name="initialDate" value="08/10/2005"