View Full Version : Table height property?

07-16-2005, 05:39 PM
Hey everyone, this should be a simple answer for anyone that knows their html tables. You see, I have a website which works like most do, organized by tables (probably not switching to css, but who knows). The problem is, I don't like my left pane's height.

All references to this question are working off the following site (please note, this is not a done site, most links do not work).

I am programming my site with a lot of php, so the contents of the whitespace can change in size. Unfortunately, I cannot make the pane on the left change with it as they are in two different tables. Is there a 'height' property which can allow me to dynamically change how long the left pane is?

Thanks for reading.

07-16-2005, 05:46 PM
well you can put more content in the left pane to extend it down past the content in the right pane.

since you don't want to use css then a transparent gif image might stretch it down if you don't want more content to do it.

07-16-2005, 06:10 PM
The problem is I am using php to import another files contents into the site. In the source code, you will notice a big block of no code followed by a comment which reads

everything above this is stored on another file, everything below is on the html file

Since the left pane is included in this, I need a way to make the extra space dynamically expand and contract. IF in my white spot I have a lot of content, I need the left o expand. If I have little or no content, then I need it to go back to right below the definitions.

07-16-2005, 07:08 PM
ok, i know how to fix this

heres how (I think) your sites set up. you have a main table, which contains everything, then you have cells in there (i think) that look like this

| |
| |--------------
| |
| |
now in cell 'a' you have another table where you have your bg image as the background. all you have to do is set the table that contains the bg image now to nothing, and set cell 'a's bg (which is nothing right now) to your BG image. if you need help send me your php file and i can fix it. AIM = mlfastball05

07-16-2005, 07:10 PM
Sorry, I don't use AIM. I have MSN, but thats it. You can't just post it on here?

07-16-2005, 07:13 PM
opps, i just edited my above post with the answer. questions or whatever

msn = mlfastball05@hotmail.com

07-17-2005, 07:28 AM
you really ought to thinking about changing to css, and standard compliance.
it would be CORRECT and more accomidating.