...

View Full Version : Win32/Gaelicum.A



JamieR
07-16-2005, 12:54 PM
I scanned my pc 2 days ago and it was clean of any crap, yet last night I got loads of resident shield warnings that .exe files which I had on my computer had been infected with Win32/Gaelicum.A - I googled it, looked on AVG's website..etc and there is NOTHING about it :mad:

I removed 200 copies of it from my backup disk last night (all the files were stuff like installation files for adaware, spybot etc...legit stuff)

Anyone know anything about it? As I say, google, grisoft.com, symantec security response all know nothing about it....

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-17-2005, 12:15 PM
It appears to be and alias of gael.a (http://secunia.com/virus_information/19823/gael.a/)
Here is what Symantec has to say http://securityresponse.symantec.com/avcenter/venc/data/w32.licum.html

JamieR
07-17-2005, 09:36 PM
Cheers...

That is extremley interesting.....since the PC I had it on was running XP Pro SP2 and was of course patched against crap like that. In the end I reformatted the disk and reinstalled windows :D

The weird thing is that there weren't any unusual processes running on it...just windows stuff and apache, php etc...and I dunno how it got on there in the first place...probably off something I downloaded :eek:

angel_brc
08-06-2006, 06:37 AM
Hello:
I`m sorry about my english, i know that is not to good but i hope you understood.
In reffer about the Gaelicum.A, past thursday my AVG detect it, on my installers folder (there i have msn installer, avg installer, acrobat installer, etc), and when i said to heal files, my AVG erase all the installers, of course i have my backups.;)
Well, today, a few minutes ago, this "Bicho" like we said in Argentina to viruses, appears again on the folder of my game Battelfield Two. When i scan the computer, it seems like the AVG erase all the related things of this "Bicho" (of course my Battlefield doesn´t works now :mad: ), but i´m not shure that they wont be come back. I have been looking for security responses, but i dont find anything. Any Help? Thanks from Argentina. :thumbsup:

_Aerospace_Eng_
08-06-2006, 06:55 AM
When you say backups what do you mean? Do you mean system restore? If you so then I'm afraid you are going to lose most of your backups because if you have system restore on then any restoration you do will bring back the virus.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum