...

View Full Version : Frameset and A Href Issues



fidgen
07-12-2005, 02:59 PM
Hiya,

I have what might be quite a simple problem, but the office is that hot that I just cant work it out!

What I want to do is have a script that will allow me to have a list of links <A href=""> but each with enough parameters to:

Open a new browser window
Create a frameset inside that window of 2 columns
Load xxxx.html into column 1
Load yyyy.html into column 2

The end effect can be seen here http://www.york.ac.uk/enterprise/eio/4_research_biol.html I just want to be able to change all the details via the <a href>'s rather than create dozens of individual HTML pages.



What I considered so far, but havent been able to achieve is to have the onclick action open the new browser, and load the frameset html. Then the other parameters load the correct HTML's into the frames that were just created.




I hope this makes sense, as you can see I'm not thinking straight atm ;)


Cheers
Hugh

nikkiH
07-12-2005, 03:18 PM
As long as you are aware of all the problems with framesets...

Does this help at all?
http://www.ipwebdesign.net/useful_dynamicFrameset.html

fidgen
07-12-2005, 03:23 PM
Thanks for the link, but as it happens I found exactly what i needed here :P

http://codingforums.com/showthread.php?t=25634&highlight=href+frames+window

Glens zip file at the bottom of the thread is the solution. And yes, I dont like frames really either, but in this case it is the perfect solution for what I need to do :)



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum