...

View Full Version : <td> height in internet explorer



Courtnie
07-11-2005, 08:11 PM
Okay, so I am coding a page... I have everything in tables (bad idea, but I had too - long story) and all my design is in my CSS file.

What I have is a table with tons of TD's, I need to have it in a table so the TD's grow... but I don't want all of them to grow so what is happening is the right ones are growing but other's are growing that I don't want to. (It's really confusing)

I have set the height in the TD as well as a height in the CSS - works great in firefox... but IE on the other hand, just does what ever the **** it wants... and of course the max-height doesn't work....

what can I do?

nikkiH
07-11-2005, 09:16 PM
Re-code it with CSS.
Tables stretch. And they do so according to arbitrary rules set by the browser. Just the way it is, and it's what we love about them.
But if it must NOT stretch, you need to use a div with set height and overflow set.
To work around your problem, try using a div set like that in the table cell. Might work...

Courtnie
07-11-2005, 09:23 PM
Thanks for the tip....

like I said, has to be done in tables, because the height needs to grow together... I orginally had the whole site done in divs and it looked beautiful! EXCEPT when one box got large the rest didn't, so there was lots of white space at the end of the page... so the divs/tables need to grow with each other... if anything can think of a good way to do this, let me know, but I have been working on this for a week (8 hours a day) and this is the best I could come up with, I have re-coded it over and over....

Just to add:
Even if I put divs inside of td's and set height to the div, td, tr, etc... it still changes according to the content on the left

Courtnie
07-11-2005, 10:28 PM
I figured it out.

vavroom
07-18-2005, 10:56 AM
I figured it out.

Could you please, please please pretty please let me know how you figured it out???

I've been banging my head against a brick wall all day trying to set a cell height to 44px, and it's got the same behaviour you describe... Works a beauty in FF, and IE treats it in ways we don't know.

Would love to hear what you did to figure it out :)

Thanks



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum