...

View Full Version : for the love of css... help



adamsimms
07-06-2005, 09:04 PM
will someone help me!

i've been working on this site for a few days now, everything is pretty much in place for the major things, but i cannot for the life of me get the background to extend to 100% of the page, it stops after about 80%

its just a simple horizontal jpg that repeats, but for some reason just stops at a certain place. Can someone please show me my error to get this to extend to the bottom of the page?

( html )
http://www.faceinacrowd.com/site/

( css )
http://www.faceinacrowd.com/site/styles.css

( css - menu )
http://www.faceinacrowd.com/site/menu.css

thanks in advance

joeframbach
07-06-2005, 09:19 PM
would you be able to put the entire site in a div, width 584px?
it seems to me that it would generate the same effect.

Beeper
07-06-2005, 10:23 PM
Ignore me I hadn't thought it through

adamsimms
07-07-2005, 01:08 AM
would you be able to put the entire site in a div, width 584px?
it seems to me that it would generate the same effect.

what do you mean by put the entire site in a div? I currently ( in the html ) have the entire site within the background div, check the html. But its still not doing anything... im kinda new at this, i've had a little experience in CSS but this is the first time i've done a completely tableless design...

please someone,,, anyone... help me... aide-moi!

thanks
~Adam

joeframbach
07-07-2005, 04:24 AM
i hadnt thought it through either so you may want to ignore me as well.

if the complete content of the site is wrapped in that div, then if you just get rid of the height in the css, it'll extend to the end of the content, right?

try it without specifying height:100%

adamsimms
07-07-2005, 04:39 AM
i hadnt thought it through either so you may want to ignore me as well.

if the complete content of the site is wrapped in that div, then if you just get rid of the height in the css, it'll extend to the end of the content, right?

try it without specifying height:100%


the background doesnt show up at all if i do that... :(

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-07-2005, 04:44 AM
What is the background image that should be repeating? Why are you using absolute positioning to center elements? If its a block level element like a div then you can just use margin:auto; I think you are going about the CSS the wrong way but you are just beginning so its fine. The absolute positioning is likely causing the problem. You need to declare a height for the absolute positioning which is why its not good to use for a container if you know your content will be changing.

adamsimms
07-07-2005, 04:56 AM
What is the background image that should be repeating? Why are you using absolute positioning to center elements? If its a block level element like a div then you can just use margin:auto; I think you are going about the CSS the wrong way but you are just beginning so its fine. The absolute positioning is likely causing the problem. You need to declare a height for the absolute positioning which is why its not good to use for a container if you know your content will be changing.

bg.jpg should be repeating

adamsimms
07-07-2005, 05:01 AM
i think i got it from what you said... i changed absolute to relative on one... and then it extended down...

but it seems as if there is a 1px on the bottom, anyone else see it?

_Aerospace_Eng_
07-07-2005, 05:20 AM
Yeah I see it. A div cannot extend the entire height of the page using height:100%; I thought maybe an extra margin somewhere, but can't seem to find that.

joeframbach
07-07-2005, 03:09 PM
i honestly wouldn't have noticed that extra 1px. don't worry about it, it looks fine.

although, i spotted one more problem. the opening quotation marks around the blue box, in IE, is off by a dozen pixels or so. it's okay in firefox, so just slap one of these (http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates/homepage) on the page and you're set! :D

adamsimms
07-07-2005, 03:43 PM
i honestly wouldn't have noticed that extra 1px. don't worry about it, it looks fine.

although, i spotted one more problem. the opening quotation marks around the blue box, in IE, is off by a dozen pixels or so. it's okay in firefox, so just slap one of these (http://www.spreadfirefox.com/?q=affiliates/homepage) on the page and you're set! :D


thanks!... yeah im doing the debugging in firefox... i need this to work in IE also, how can i make the expection changes for IE, i know its possible, but how? something !important?

adamsimms
07-07-2005, 05:02 PM
thanks!... yeah im doing the debugging in firefox... i need this to work in IE also, how can i make the expection changes for IE, i know its possible, but how? something !important?


i managed to fix this also...

if you apply "_property : value;' it will be ignored in firefox but will work in IE... example:

#qtop {
vertical-align : top;
position : absolute;
_margin-left : -12px; /* IE exception */
}

#qcontent {
text-align : justify;
font-style : italic;
background : #c1cfd7;
width : 259px;
_width : 257px; /* IE exception */
margin-left : 12px;
padding-left : 15px;
padding-right : 15px;
}

joeframbach
07-07-2005, 05:11 PM
wow. i've never heard of that before. odd.

how about the three-part menu at the top? in IE, the text is jumbled together.


top : 15px;
_top: 20px;

adamsimms
07-07-2005, 05:13 PM
wow. i've never heard of that before. odd.

thanks... fixed now ;)

this is where i found the resource:
http://centricle.com/ref/css/filters/

adamsimms
07-07-2005, 07:01 PM
can anyone see why the 2nd level css menu is not work in IE? it works fine in Safari and firefox... its suppose to work in IE, I had it working before, but i must have shagged something up...



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum