View Full Version : Detecting CPU load with PHP

07-01-2005, 05:46 PM
I am having a serious issue with one of my host's servers. It appears that something somewhere in a PHP script is at random intervals is placing an enormous load on the CPU and memory usage. I have tested and tested and tested every possible scenario that I can think of that could be causing this but I only get normal CPU activity.

What I need to be able to do is insert some bit of PHP code in all the suspect scripts that I can use to detect when the CPU usage jumps up to 99%. I can then dump all the relevant variable values to determine what exactly is the cause.

Bumping around in the dark has gotten me nowhere thus far.

Dylan Leblanc
07-02-2005, 05:53 AM
function ServerLoad()

$stats = exec('uptime');

preg_match('/averages?: ([0-9\.]+),[\s]+([0-9\.]+),[\s]+([0-9\.]+)/', $stats, $regs);

return ($regs[1].', '.$regs[2].', '.$regs[3]);


Safe mode must be off

07-02-2005, 09:50 PM
Thanks! That is exactly what I needed. :thumbsup:

07-02-2005, 10:43 PM
Hmm... That didn't work for me, I took that and modified it for a percentage and ended up with:


function ServerLoad()

$stats = explode(' ', substr(exec('uptime'), -14));
$av = round((($stats[0] + $stats[1] + $stats[2]) / 3)*100);
return ($av);


echo ServerLoad() . '%';


07-05-2005, 01:58 AM
Hmm... That didn't work for me, I took that and modified it for a percentage and ended up with

If you do explode(' ', substr(exec('uptime'), -14)) you are going to end up with commas in each element of the $stats array.

07-05-2005, 06:16 PM
Umm... No. The uptime output is:
18:14 up 1:14, 2 users, load averages: 0.33 0.17 0.21

However, those load averages are number of processes, which means this is a bad way of detecting CPU load, and that any percentages are impossible.

07-14-2006, 09:59 PM
the first element $stats[0] is your current cpu load, you don't need to divided by 3 to get average value.