View Full Version : Can somone help me decipher an error with php and mySql?

Single Paradox
06-28-2005, 04:27 AM
This is an error I got from trying to connect to mySql:

Warning: mysql_connect(): Can't connect to local MySQL server through socket '/tmp/mysql.sock' (2) in /home/content/html/phptest.php on line 138

This is my PHP code:

$conn = mysql_connect("localhost","Judge","Bingo");
$msg="Connected saftely to mysql Judge";}

It was just testing so Judge and Bingo really aren't going to be username and password. Just testing though.

06-28-2005, 04:32 AM
What do you have set as your socket for mysql.default_host in your php.ini?
This is assuming as well that the mysql is located on your localhost and not an external computer.

Single Paradox
06-28-2005, 04:34 AM
So I should upload mysql onto my site? I'm very sorry for the noobishness, I am brand new to php and mySql. I can write pages ok, it's just the setup that is screwy. Should I upload my php.ini file, my mySql file, or both?

Single Paradox
06-28-2005, 04:36 AM
Would I give out too much information if I pasted my whole php.ini file? Because I don't know where to find it. Thanks for the speedy reply by the way.

06-28-2005, 04:38 AM
no, that won't be nessessary.
I am assuming you are testing via localhost on your pc is that correct?
You do have a mysql client installed then?

Single Paradox
06-28-2005, 04:41 AM
I do have mySql installed on MY computor, I can't seem to find the MySQL Monitor though. That could be it. Would you recommend deleting MySQL from my computor and re-installing it?

Single Paradox
06-28-2005, 04:44 AM
Oh and yes, I am testing localhost I believe. This is my first time with php/mySql/Apache so I probably will ask a lot of questions about what I am doing. Sorry if I seem a little slow.

06-28-2005, 04:44 AM