...

View Full Version : performance boosting



scroots
09-14-2002, 10:46 PM
i have a pc (win98) it runs ok put its performance is not as top notch as when i got it.
how can i improve performance, without hardware upgrades or overclocking?
thanks in advance
as it needs sorting before it annoys me, i have considerd a drive defragment, how do i run my pc is safe mode?

scroots

Spookster
09-15-2002, 12:19 AM
wipe the HD and reload the OS. :D

mouse
09-15-2002, 01:37 AM
Run msconfig select Advanced and enable the start up menu. This will allow you to choose one of 4 routes when you restart. One of these is safe mode. Number 3 I think.

Clearing out background programs by using selective startup (see: msconfig again) can be good and obviously defragment.

scroots
09-15-2002, 11:49 AM
Spookster, i don`t want to format and reinstall, i have some software on my pc, which i need, like nero, which i no longer have the Cd for, as we i had my Cd writer installed the people at the shop put nero on, and didn`t give me the disk.

scroots

oracleguy
09-15-2002, 11:26 PM
Originally posted by scroots
Spookster, i don`t want to format and reinstall, i have some software on my pc, which i need, like nero, which i no longer have the Cd for, as we i had my Cd writer installed the people at the shop put nero on, and didn`t give me the disk.

scroots

As long as its a legit copy of Nero, they should of given you the disc. The CD writer would of shipped with the install disc. And since you bought the writer, you also own the disc.

teufelfisch
09-16-2002, 06:11 PM
That doesn't always happen though. On my old PC, Win95 2nd edition was installed, but I got the disc for Win95 1st ed.
Also, when I got my CD-burner for my 3rd computer, the person who sold me the drive just burned me a copy of Roxio, rather than giving me an original disc.

To boot up in safe mode with Win98, hit F8 when the computer is loading the OS, and you should get a list of choices. Or, you could stick the CD in before you boot and it should automatically give you the list.

Out of curiosity, why do you need safe mode to defrag? It should be fine just to do it in normal mode.

scroots
09-16-2002, 11:01 PM
You don`t need safemode to defrag BUT if you don`t it can get itterupt by programs nad have to restart several times and fails.

somehow i don`t think i`ll be able to get hold of the disc from them, as i think there sofware is not always legit.

scroots



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum