...

View Full Version : javascript and phpdev4



davehaz
06-14-2005, 04:10 PM
I am not sure if this is where this belongs but I thought I would give it a try.
I am using phpdev4(love it), however I have a little javascript in one page that shows up on the html page when using phpdev4, however when I upload the page to an actual webserver it doesn't. Is there a setting in php.ini that I need to change? Any other ideas what could be causing this?

tia.

Fou-Lu
06-14-2005, 08:12 PM
Hi Dave, I don't quite understand the problem you're having.
I'm unaware of what phpdev4 is, so that may be a problem, but assuming its a combined apache/php/mysql application, it should be easy enough.
Anyway, you're saying that it works fine on your local environment, but once the files are uploaded to a webserver it doesn't work correct?
This wouldn't be a php problem, as javascript has no way to be outputted from php without being a part of string data. Php can always handle the string data.
My guess is, without any code to look at, that you are dynamically building a javascript out of a $_REQUEST variable of some sorts. And chances are, you have your local enviroment set to allow register_globals so that it will accept these variables without accessing the superglobal. A lot of webservers leave this feature off, as it is more secure than having it on.
If you want to, you can post some code for how the javascript is being created with an example, and we can evaluate it from there.

davehaz
06-14-2005, 09:47 PM
Hi Fou-Lu,
You actually had it backwards it was working on an actual website but not in my local environment, I edited php.ini and looked around, didn't find anything to do with javascript, saved the file (didn't change anything) just did a save. but the problem has gone for now.

phpdev4 is an apache,mysql,php environment for windows. I got it from firepages website, 99% of the time it is absolutely wonderful, once in a while it has a kink, or a quirk, whichever you prefer. I tried to get support on it from www.firepages.com.au but when posting his forum says he is out of disk space.
If anybody knows anyplace else that supports phpdev4, I would appreciate the link. If there is anybody out there working in windows, and uploading to test, I strongly recomend you get and load phpdev4. There is a link for it at the top of this list.
thanks for replying.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum