...

View Full Version : C:\winnt\system32\autoexec.nt error



jaywhy13
06-08-2005, 07:08 PM
What does this mean? I was tryin to install MS Visual Studio 6.0 and I got the following error.

"C:\winnt\system32\autoexec.nt. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications. Choose 'Close' to terminate the application."

Is summin wrong with the cd... i've had it for a while.. or is summin wrong wit my computer?

JamieR
06-08-2005, 08:37 PM
I say it's your OS.

See if http://www.iamnotageek.com/a/413-p1.php helps :)

Jamie.

jaywhy13
06-14-2005, 10:15 PM
Hey I tried following the steps but I got the following error:
No destination specified for : d:\i386\config.nt_c:\winnt\system32\config.nt

And when I try the other methods... #16 I get the error:
Can't open input file: d:\i386\config.nt


HELP!!!!

tboss132
06-15-2005, 08:56 PM
I think i've posted this before... a long time ago. Hope it helps.


This can be of help. when you log on to a PC and receive the following error messages

"16-bit MS-DOS Subsystem
path to the program you are trying to run
C:\WINNT\system32\config.nt or autoexec.nt or command.com. The system file is not suitable for running MS-DOS and Microsoft Windows applications"

The resolution is shown below:

RESOLUTION
To resolve this issue, type the following commands at a command prompt to expand the Autoexec.nt, Command.com, and Config.nt files from the Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 installation CD-ROM to the Windows\System32 or Winnt\System32 folder. Press ENTER after you type each command. When you type these commands, replace cd-rom with the letter for your CD-ROM drive, drive_letter with the drive letter for your system partition, and system_root with the name of your Windows 2000 or Windows Server 2003 folder (this is typically either Winnt or Windows). After you type these commands, restart your computer:

Expand d:\i386\config.nt_ c:\winnt\system32\config.nt

expand d:\i386\autoexec.nt_ c:\winnt\system32\autoexec.nt

expand d:\i386\command.co_ c:\winnt \system32\command.com

NOTE:

1. d:\ is your CD-ROM drive letter (Change as necessary)
2. If c:\winnt\system32\config.nt does not work, try c:\winnt\system32\config, autoexec, command, etc.

jaywhy13
06-15-2005, 11:00 PM
I get a new error... "Cannot find shell.dll"

JamieR
06-15-2005, 11:06 PM
it's under %windir%\system32\shell.dll, so would copying it to the required location or pointing the app requesting it to it work?

jaywhy13
06-16-2005, 05:59 AM
where would i get a shiny new "shell.dll" to copy to the folder? I don't get an option to point to shell.dll, only error that it can't be found :mad:

JamieR
06-16-2005, 08:10 AM
Well seeing as it's a critical system file, I would imagine it's there, however you can pick one up from the windows 2000 CD.

tboss132
06-16-2005, 08:46 AM
Also, you could put your windows CD in your CD drive, go to a command line or open the run menu (Start>Run) and type sfc /scannow.
sfc is the System File Checker and checks if all your windows files are intact and in their original versions.

Fashong
06-16-2005, 05:09 PM
Switch to "Gentoo Linux" :)

jaywhy13
06-16-2005, 09:56 PM
Switch to "Gentoo Linux" :)
I'm so happy to tell you that that's not an option :)
So where can I get a shiny new shell.dll file again?

JamieR
06-16-2005, 10:02 PM
off your windows 2000 cd :)

jaywhy13
06-16-2005, 11:42 PM
So its safe to just do a copy and paste? Search the d:\ drive for the shell.dll file and copy and paste? Just like that?

JamieR
06-17-2005, 12:00 AM
should be, as it would be it's original version. However I would imagine that Windows wouldn't be able to run without it as I think it's a "critical" system file so it shouldn't be missing :p

jaywhy13
06-17-2005, 12:02 AM
Yea... :confused: but why would the program say that it can't be found tho?

jaywhy13
06-17-2005, 03:56 AM
I can't find the file???? :eek:
I searched my win2k cd and i didn't find any shell.dll...
Is there a way that I can extract or summin?

tboss132
06-17-2005, 08:33 AM
Also, you could put your windows CD in your CD drive, go to a command line or open the run menu (Start>Run) and type sfc /scannow.
sfc is the System File Checker and checks if all your windows files are intact and in their original versions.
Did you try what I posted above?

Fashong
06-20-2005, 07:32 PM
How is it not an option?? It's free :) ^_^ lol

jaywhy13
06-21-2005, 02:22 PM
Did you try what I posted above?
Thanks, thanks for askin again... didn't notice your post earlier! THANKS... it worked...

But I have a slight problem now installing Visual Studio thats unrelated to that now. I had installed Visual Studio previously on a ard drive that was removed from the system. So the visual studio keeps on attemptin to install to the e:\ drive even tho I specifiy c:\...
right now i'm goin thru the registry to change all "e:\...\visual studio" to c:\ .... any suggestions?

JamieR
06-21-2005, 04:09 PM
You should be able to specify where you want it installed unless you've got it installed and you are trying to run updates or something...

jaywhy13
06-21-2005, 04:13 PM
well... i got the problem solved... I did a google on "remove visual studio registry entries" and when I found a microsoft site it told me wot to delete in the registry.. and that solved that problem... thanks again guys! :thumbsup:

tboss132
06-21-2005, 04:40 PM
I can't find the file???? :eek:
I searched my win2k cd and i didn't find any shell.dll...
Is there a way that I can extract or summin?
Just for the records, the reason why you couldn't find it is because it's not there. It's usually not possible to copy system files off the Windows CD Rom and paste to you HDD. MS usually packages all system files in CAB files which have to be extracted before use. This is the work of the OS installer or other tools build for that purpose. The file will usually be named shell.dl_ and it'll be packaged in a Cab file.

JamieR
06-21-2005, 05:06 PM
well... i got the problem solved... I did a google on "remove visual studio registry entries" and when I found a microsoft site it told me wot to delete in the registry.. and that solved that problem... thanks again guys! :thumbsup:

Ah right...glad you got it sorted ;)


The file will usually be named shell.dl_

Sorry....I think I know why MS do the _ trick with their file extensions but can you care to clarify whu they do it please? :o

tboss132
06-21-2005, 06:12 PM
Hey, i don't really know why they do that. I guess it's to make sure you can't run any program from there. I guess Liorean would know. He's the "geek" in such things. Liorean?

JamieR
06-21-2005, 06:26 PM
Yeah true...well I dunno either - I think its to stop the files being used or something :|



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum