...

View Full Version : Using text link to submit form...



NancyJ
06-01-2005, 12:28 PM
Is it possible to submit a form using a text link (or create a form input control that looks like a link) without javascript?

I tried using a form button styled up to look like a text link but that was pretty disastrous....
http://b.1asphost.com/NancyJ/products.asp?cat=1&pid=1

in FF its fine except for no underline, in IE it jumps when you hover over the button... in Opera its indescribable (just take a look at what happens when you scroll down and hover over the add to basket) ...meep, btw if you can help me fix those position problems in Opera too that would be great;)

so I've pretty much decided that no matter how hard I try its not going to work :(

And before anyone asks, I dont want to use javascript form submit because adding to basket it is a major site functionality thing... if js is off then the site ceases to function.

bazz
06-01-2005, 01:19 PM
Hi NancyJ,

I have just looked at it in IE6 on XP and FF. Didnt see anything wrong in FF and in ie, when I moused over the add to basket links, the text paragraph, below the link, seemed to jump up. Is this what you were referring to?

IN your source code, I see you do action = "whatever" ... try it without the spaces and se if that makes a difference. (guess). Also, I think you should remve the <br /> between your divs. Add css to make thenm behave and you should find better xbrowser reliablity.

To answer you first question; yes you can style a button to look like a text link. check out the link below to see two buttons styled as are my href's. I havent quite achieved consistency in my site yet so if you go to the preview, you'll see the differences. go here (http://cms.thechrissystem.com/cgi-bin/thechrissystem/contact/contact.pl?dpt=chris_dpt)


HTH's

Bazz

NancyJ
06-01-2005, 01:59 PM
No offense but they're buttons and they look like it ;)

I want it to look pretty much as it does now, but without the jumping. If I change the button size from the default, ie with 0 borders or change in font size - it jumps.

What I'm looking for is another way of achieving the same effect.

bazz
06-01-2005, 08:01 PM
:D

none taken.

I know they look like buttons (for now), but I was trying to show how a button could be styled other than its default.

All you would need do is make the background transparent and change the font size shape and color for my *buttons* to look like your text link.

Having looked again at your site, I wondered if you have considered putting the *view basket* and *add to basket* in a list which you then style to be inline? I'm not certain that it will fix the probelm but it may help.

HTH's

Bazz

JimB
06-01-2005, 08:37 PM
Here is what I came up with using CSS and HTML, but I can't check it in Opera because I don't have it installed.


<style>
.button
{
border: none;
background-color:#ffffff;
color:#336699;
font-weight:bold;
font-size:12px;
cursor: hand;
text-decoration: underline;
}
</style>


<input class="button" type="submit" name="Add" value="Add to Basket" onMouseOver="this.style.color='003366'" onMouseOut="this.style.color='336699'">

The other solution would be to use an image for your "Add to Basket". Not only would it add a little pizzazz to the site, visual cues are sometimes more enticing to the user and you won't have to worry about the link changing color or trying to position the button text to align the same as regular text on the same line.

One problem I have with your site is the fact that the "FRAMES" idea. Have you looked at the site in 800x600 or even 1024x768? There are two vertical scroll bars. From a usability standpoint, the buttons would be the least of your worries.

NancyJ
06-01-2005, 09:38 PM
The other solution would be to use an image for your "Add to Basket". Not only would it add a little pizzazz to the site, visual cues are sometimes more enticing to the user and you won't have to worry about the link changing color or trying to position the button text to align the same as regular text on the same line.

One problem I have with your site is the fact that the "FRAMES" idea. Have you looked at the site in 800x600 or even 1024x768? There are two vertical scroll bars. From a usability standpoint, the buttons would be the least of your worries.

Blame the architect not the builder ;) I didnt design the site.

I've fixed the issue now, I increased the row height a little and that seemed to sort the problem... Opera is still going mental but since Opera doesnt like the position of the menus either I think it doesnt really matter.
Opera users arent exactly the target market for the site.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum