View Full Version : So... Where did you learn how to code?

Vapor
05-31-2005, 07:24 PM
So, where did you learn how to code?

squirellplaying
05-31-2005, 07:57 PM
School. After learning javascript I've learned php with mysql by myself. Java was taught this year in school.

JamieR
05-31-2005, 08:26 PM
Well I learnt out of sheer curiousity and trial/error and copying other peoples tutorials and examples. I mainly reside doing XHTML/CSS stuff, however I'm increasing my knowledge in PHP pretty fast ;)

We did stuff at school, but we haven't done anything decent when it comes to web design....tables and crap like that so I just sit there hand coding :p

whackaxe
05-31-2005, 09:54 PM
i remember the first code (ok HTML) i wrote was when i opened an account with a free webhost which had a WYSIWYG editor, but it was naff. but in the corner there was "Use HTML". what is this HTML they speak of i thought? ive been finding out for the last 7 years :)

...{chris}...
06-01-2005, 10:17 PM
HTML: Self, then class
CSS: Self
Actionscript/Javascript: Teaching myself currrently

_chrisxx

scroots
06-01-2005, 10:44 PM
I started building my first site before i got the net. I found javascriptkit.com and used snippets to add bits to my site. I had curosity and the trial/error approach. I learnt javascript, then ASP, i decided ASP was useless to me so i started learning php and mysql.

I learn by research (looking stuff up where needed), thinking and trying it.

scroots

Grant Palin
06-01-2005, 11:41 PM
Started with VB in a computer class in high school. Piqued a little interest in programming. Started learning HTML on my own to create a website. Got interested in websites. Took a Java class at college. Really interested in programming then, so enrolled in the Computer Systems Technology program at the same college. Just finished, and am now a professional programmer/analyst!

Learned a lot in college...

Java
C/C++
Perl
ASP.Net with VB.Net
Assembly
Scheme, Prolog