...

View Full Version : word wrap in Mozilla?



cursor_joe
05-30-2005, 02:36 PM
hi. I was wondering if someone could help me out. I've got a website (joeratt.com) and on there I have a guest book. Well one of my programming buddies showed me that I needed to wrap the words. So I did, but it didnt work in Mozilla.


<div style="position:absolute; word-wrap: break-word; left:254px; width:470;">

is there a way to make this work in mozilla too?
~Joe

cursor_joe
05-30-2005, 02:38 PM
ok so it doesnt work on netscape either... hm... is there a way to do this?

gsnedders
05-30-2005, 03:07 PM
It's not valid HTML or CSS, try making it validate, then try again.

mrruben5
05-30-2005, 03:23 PM
And it's in a php code box... lol

anyway:


<div style="position:absolute; white-space: nowrap; left:254px; width:470px;">

cursor_joe
05-30-2005, 06:12 PM
is nowrap what i want?

rmedek
05-30-2005, 08:29 PM
No, you want word-wrap; unfortunately, it's IE-only. Moz doesn't support it. You might have to try some scripting if you're looking for a specific effect.

cursor_joe
05-30-2005, 11:49 PM
what do you mean... sorry.. im lost

rmedek
05-31-2005, 02:14 AM
I mean, "word-wrap" will give you what you are looking for, not "nowrap." Internet Explorer is the only browser that supports "word-wrap."

For Mozilla, there is no CSS based code that'll give you the effect of breaking and wrapping a word. So you will need to use some Javascript or PHP to emulate that for you.

cursor_joe
05-31-2005, 04:01 AM
ok now i understand... but is tehre a way to be all browser compatable?

gsnedders
05-31-2005, 04:37 AM
Safari 1.3 and up also supports it.

rmedek
05-31-2005, 04:10 PM
ok now i understand... but is tehre a way to be all browser compatable?
errrehmm... as far as I know the only way to do that is use some Javascript or PHP to emulate the effect you're looking for.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum