...

View Full Version : Switcher question



michael180
05-26-2005, 11:30 PM
I switced over to the MAC a few months ago, as I was making the switch, I couldn't wait to junk my Windows stuff. Now I am unable to check out my pages on a Windows system, especially IE!

Is there a way short of going to a Windows machine to check out my pages? Maybe sone sort of an emulator?

Thanks,
Michael

JamieR
05-26-2005, 11:33 PM
There is Microsoft Virtual PC which runs Windows 2000/XP etc from your Mac.

grubesteak
05-26-2005, 11:48 PM
What problems are you having? I've got experience in both mac and pc development. Maybe I can help. PM me.

Eric

JamieR
05-26-2005, 11:54 PM
Same..
but if he just wants to test his stuff in IE, wouldn't it be be a better and more convenient if he just got VPC7 or something?

gsnedders
05-26-2005, 11:59 PM
x86 emulation on PPC is inevitably slow - Even on a Dual 2.5GHz G5 with a couple of gigs of RAM, sure, it's usable for testing on this, but it's usability all depends on how powerful the Mac is.

(It is not MAC, MAC is a network identification, Mac, however, is the name of an OS)

grubesteak
05-27-2005, 12:07 AM
It would be best to find out what is issues are first before telling him answers. For example, if he can't get PHP files to load because he doesn't know where to stick the files, (in the sites folder) and turn on web sharing, then telling him to purchase Virtual PC might be a bad idea.


Eric

JamieR
05-27-2005, 12:10 AM
(It is not MAC, MAC is a network identification, Mac, however, is the name of an OS)

Bugger...I was just about to mention that :D

gsnedders
05-27-2005, 12:30 AM
It would be best to find out what is issues are first before telling him answers. For example, if he can't get PHP files to load because he doesn't know where to stick the files, (in the sites folder) and turn on web sharing, then telling him to purchase Virtual PC might be a bad idea.


Eric
PHP isn't enabled by default on OS X, you have to edit httpd.conf.

michael180
05-27-2005, 12:35 AM
There must be others out here who only have OSX. Do you even bother to check out your CSS pages in IE. It's just really a shame that of all the browsers, the only one that gives me grief is IE, and that's the one the most people use. I think? I love FF, and Safri, my pages even look good in Netscape, it's just IE. It's very frustrating.

I guess I have to look into Virtual PC?

Thanks all,
Michael

gsnedders
05-27-2005, 12:47 AM
What are the specs of your machine?

jkd
05-27-2005, 12:57 AM
I have an ancient Thinkpad running Win98 that I can lug around with me to check out IE6. When I'm at home, I also have a few WinXP boxes laying around I just network together. It might be worth getting a junker PC to do Win/IE testing.

michael180
05-27-2005, 01:22 AM
What are the specs of your machine?

I have Imac G5 with 2g of memory, and a Powerbook 17 G4 with 1g of memory.

Michael

grubesteak
05-27-2005, 01:43 AM
Yeah, IE Win gives me grief. I develop on OS X at home, XP at work. So, I use the work computer to check out my sites for errors. Or, there's always a library.

You could always just get a used, el cheapo windows laptop to check your sites in IE. You should never just check on one browser/platform only, if you want your site to look great.

Plus, validating goes a long way, I find.

gsnedders
05-27-2005, 01:57 AM
VPC should run fine on both of those computers, it's up to you whether to get an x86 box, or VPC.

Skyzyx
05-27-2005, 02:38 AM
Yeah, I have a 17" Powerbook G4 w/1GB RAM, and VPC7 with WinXP runs just fine. However, there are issues with VPC7 and Mac OS X Tiger. Networking went a little screwy when I installed Tiger, and I came across this on the Microsoft VPC site:

"We are working on an update to make VPC 7 compatible with Tiger. This will be a free update and will be available on this site within the next few months."
http://www.microsoft.com/mac/howtobuy.aspx?pid=sysreq#vpc7

In regards to PHP on Mac OS X, check out the do-it-all-for-you installers for PHP 4.3.x and 5.0.x from http://www.entropy.ch/software/macosx/php/

JamieR
05-27-2005, 08:56 AM
I'd like to get a new mac (well a 15" Powerbook :p) as my aincient Powerbook G3 is dead :| However I'd have to do a lot of hard work to get the cash for one :eek:!

Bill Posters
05-27-2005, 09:44 AM
PHP isn't enabled by default on OS X, you have to edit httpd.conf.

Enabled? I didn't even think it was installed by default.
I thought users (needed to?) install it themselves.
…unless that's changed in the most recent versions of Mac OS.

grubesteak
05-27-2005, 12:30 PM
It's not installed by default. You do have to download it first. I would suggest this as a good place to get PHP installer for OS X.

http://www.entropy.ch/software/macosx/php/

gsnedders
05-27-2005, 02:41 PM
Nope - It's installed by default, and can be enabled quite easily: Just remove the #s before the relevent lines in httpd.conf. It's been there since OS 10.1, I think...

If you want to install Apache and PHP, I'd do it from source... But maybe that's just me :)

Lastly, VPC 7 works with Tiger, with the exception of the Virtual Switch.

Bill Posters
05-27-2005, 06:37 PM
Nope - It's installed by default, and can be enabled quite easily: Just remove the #s before the relevent lines in httpd.conf. It's been there since OS 10.1, I think...

If you want to install Apache and PHP, I'd do it from source... But maybe that's just me :)

Now I know for certain that Apache is already installed (by OS X) by default because I've never installed it and yet I have it up and running on my own mac. From what I recall, it was simply a matter of 'switching on' personal Web Sharing (system prefs).

I manually installed PHP 5.01 some time ago (using Liyanage's handy package for OS X). If what you say about PHP being installed by OS X by default, then I may have two versions of PHP installed on this machine.
How would I go about finding out?

I'm still not sure you're right about OS X installing PHP as well by default.
Even less so, given that even Apple.com mentions getting the Liyanage binary release or the PHP source from the PHP.net site (http://developer.apple.com/internet/opensource/php.html).

gsnedders
05-28-2005, 02:22 AM
Apple's included version is already out of date - So, it isn't a surprise they tell people how to get the latest version.

Bill Posters
05-28-2005, 07:38 AM
Apple's included version is already out of date - So, it isn't a surprise they tell people how to get the latest version.

Seems you're right after all. Good call.
Fwiw, here's a more complete how-to for enabling PHP in several versions of OS X (http://the.taoofmac.com/space/HOWTO/Enable%20PHP%20on%20Mac%20OS%20X).
It also states that it's PHP 4.3.10 that's bundled/installed with OS X 10.4 ('Tiger') - a whole version behind current PHP releases, but still very capable.
Still, quite odd that Apple seem so seemingly tight-lipped about touting the fact that it's already in there. (Mind you, I've never been one for 'reading the f**king manual) ;)

Now that the first serious Tiger update (10.4.1 (http://www.apple.com/downloads/macosx/apple/macosxupdate1041.html)) has been released, I'll be installing Tiger (+ update) on my secondary HD. I'll still be grabbing the Liyanage package though as most of the PHP tutorial books I now use for reference have a good smattering of PHP5 methods.

gsnedders
05-28-2005, 12:38 PM
4.3.10 was the latest when Tiger build 8A428 was declared GM.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum