View Full Version : Changing print settings?

m_baggley
05-23-2005, 03:26 PM
Hi folks,

We are running a SQL database that runs reports onto an .ASP page. The information is pretty heavy and every report requires printing using landscape and background colours.

Does anyone know a way of scripting the page so that when a user prints a page, they don't have to change the settings. The reason being is that most people don't think to do this and as such is fustrating and paper wasting (the reports look awful on portrait even though they are designed to fit on the screen)

I realise that some people will say that the users should just learn to change the settings, but many different people run many different reports and it seems stupid that each and every time they need to change the settings just to accommodate these reports.

And before anyone asks, I have no knowledge of JS at all so please a please please help. I have had a look at few of the JS sites and can't find any free scripts.

Thanks

Matt

Kor
05-23-2005, 03:36 PM
I realise that some people will say that the users should just learn to change the settings, but many different people run many different reports and it seems stupid that each and every time they need to change the settings just to accommodate these reports.

You said it. There is no way to interfere with user's settings (because of obvious security reasons). Users should learn how to set their printing settings. There is nothing you can do. Unless maybe insert al alert or a visible advice to be careful when seting their printers....

Or build your reportpages in such a way than they are to be printed the same with default printer settings....

jbot
05-23-2005, 03:48 PM
use CSS paged media for those reports so that the pages will automatically print in landscape. :rolleyes: