...

View Full Version : setting up a webserver



itsonlybarney
05-16-2005, 05:06 AM
i have a network at home and was wondering what server setup i can use so that i can create a webserver on another computer on the network as the server so that i can do testing and all that on it before i upload it to go live on the internet to my webhost.

what setup do you guys recommend for a phpBB forum LAMP (linux, apache, mysql, php), WAMP (windows, apache, mysql, php), WIMP (windows, IIS, mysql, php) as i would like it to be simple to setup.

wabirdman
05-16-2005, 06:09 AM
If you go down the WAMP option then you could use Firepages PHPDEV (http://www.firepages.com.au/yak2.htm/down1)

I have used it to show pages on the web (using my IP address) from my PC

wabirdman

JamieR
05-16-2005, 11:46 AM
I'd go down the WAMP route myself. At the moment I'm going 1/2 way through installing it....got PHP and Apache installed (but only apache works). Have you looked at Abyss Web server (http://www.aprelium.com/abyssws/)
Jamie.

itsonlybarney
05-16-2005, 01:44 PM
i'll try them out....thnx guys....i'll let you know how it all goes....

whackaxe
05-16-2005, 02:48 PM
if you have enough time on your hands you may want to try a linux distro because if you're developping PHP/mySQL apps, chances are they will be hosted on linux when they go live so you would have more accurate testing conditions. on the other hand if you install Apache PHP and Mysql on a windows system you will have an OS you know and the software is essentially the same

bcarl314
05-16-2005, 04:53 PM
A word of caution if you're going to use this as a dev server. Make sure you install and configure it as close as possible to the production environment. I've had several issues of php / sql scripts that work on newer versions (my dev server) but not my production box. For example: mySQL subqueries only run in 4.1.3 or higher, my dev box runs 4.1.3, but production runs 3.23. So some of my scripts broke when I uploaded them.

In general, you want your dev env to be a duplicate of your production env.

itsonlybarney
05-17-2005, 04:25 AM
i've tried linux before without any success.....

i'll list the specs of the server....
- Debian GNU/Linux (no version supplied)
- perl (v5.8.4)
- mySQL (v4.0.23_Debian-7)
- PHP (v4.3.4)

the computer that will be used as a server is also going to be a workstation for my brother and he would prefer to use the windows environment...and i dont think i can get my hands on another computer to use as a dedicated development webserver....

JamieR
05-17-2005, 09:13 AM
hrm.....if you have had problems with Linux, then I say stick with windows ;) however I believe there are slight differences between the windows version of php 5.0.4 and the linux version, however if someone would like to clarify this I'd be happy :)

whackaxe
05-17-2005, 05:18 PM
Weazel, there always have been, in Apache, mysql and PHP. Sockets support was(is? i haven't tried it in a long time) very shoddy in PHP. in apache on windows for example, htpasswd always uses MD5 hashs for passwords when you can change in linux. there are a few differn't reasons that scripts wron't run the same on different setups and i doubt that it's a priority for the people coding these programs. thats maybe why you get things like www.soapi.com

/me dreams of a world where all OSs are created equal :p

itsonlybarney
06-04-2005, 10:48 AM
sorry for bringing this one up again....

i installed the server and it all works fine....but i would like to view the phpmyadmin and other folders from another computer (on my network only)

any help would be nice...

Secyrb
06-27-2005, 06:50 AM
Hi I have this old computer i upload music and pic with my ftp site right now but i was wondering if i could turn the old computer into a ftp site so i can store files and still get them off the internet it would have to be in windows though?? Thanks

JamieR
06-27-2005, 09:42 AM
It can be done if you install webserver software like Apache etc. Fileziller Server is pretty good for turning your home pc into a webserver, I've done it myself. :)
I got my distro as part of XAMPP :p

Secyrb
06-27-2005, 06:14 PM
I just joined the YWDA its great. Ok so if i get all the softwear could somebody help me set it up because every time i do i screw it up :( Thanks!!!

itsonlybarney
07-01-2005, 09:54 AM
It can be done if you install webserver software like Apache etc. Fileziller Server is pretty good for turning your home pc into a webserver, I've done it myself. :)
I got my distro as part of XAMPP :p

wat is XAMPP???

JamieR
07-01-2005, 10:57 AM
It's an Apache distro - install XAMPP and then you have Apache 2, PHP 4 and 5, mySQL, Filezillaserver, phpmyadmin etc already installed. All you gotta really do is a bit of tweaking and you're away - much easier than installing everything one at a time and then configuring it :)

whackaxe
07-01-2005, 01:22 PM
although It's a very educating experience installing a webserver with PHP mysql and the whole shbang

JamieR
07-01-2005, 03:56 PM
Sure is, however I only chose a ready made distro because I didn't have the time to go and install everything manually and then config it all - would have enjoyed it tho ;)

itsonlybarney
07-02-2005, 08:05 AM
i've installed apache, php, and mysql on my windows 2000 development server....i'm trying to work on phpmyadmin....i installed all the files to http://localhost/phpmyadmin/ and i have got no idea how to get it working....i've read the readme/installation file and i cant get it to work....plz help....

JamieR
07-02-2005, 10:06 AM
What's the error?

itsonlybarney
07-02-2005, 11:44 AM
i worked it out.....

the problem was that when i went to the phpmyadmin index page it came up with a blank screen....

but i worked it out....

JamieR
07-02-2005, 11:49 AM
Ah I see, sounds like the PHP wasn't executing

itsonlybarney
09-01-2005, 02:18 AM
sorry for bringing this topic back up but its still to do with my webserver....i gave up for a while and found a help book which gave full installation instructions for a certain package which they provided....

all is working fine....PHP 5.0.2, MySQL 4.0.21, Apache 2.0.52, win2k....

now all i want is a control panel such as cPanel so that i can upload files and all that from other computers on the network. wat can you recommend??



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum