View Full Version : Help Please!!

05-12-2005, 09:58 PM
Hi friends............ :)

When I turn on my computer I get the fallowing pop up window:

"gui standby component has encountered a problem and needs to close. We are sorry for the inconvenience."

How can I fix this problem?????

Thank you for any help........... :D

Windows XP HE

05-12-2005, 11:02 PM
does your computer run ok after that message has come up? Have you installed all the updates including SP2 and removed adware, spyware etc?

05-13-2005, 12:37 AM
Hi.....Yes my computer run OK after that message...

"Have you installed all the updates including SP2 and removed adware, spyware etc?"...........Not yet.......... :(

Thank you for your time my friend........... :thumbsup:

05-13-2005, 09:15 AM
Well try and install all the updates and perform basic maintainence [is that spelt right?] on your computer :)


05-13-2005, 09:21 AM
Has this just happened recently or has it always been the case.

What have you (if anything) installed recently? - Did you notice this happening after you had installed a program, maybe some kind of animation software?

05-13-2005, 02:18 PM
Hi every one............. :)

This problem start happening after I had installed Firefox browser.

Thank you all for your helps............ ;)

05-13-2005, 03:01 PM
Ok do me a favour, uninstall firefox, reboot and see if it happens again.

You could try re-downloading FF.

05-13-2005, 03:42 PM
I have uninstalled firefox...and reboot my PC....but still the problem occurs.... :(

05-13-2005, 04:01 PM
tried system restore?

05-13-2005, 05:17 PM
I did it!........But I get this message:

"No changes have been made to your computer. System Restore was unable to restore your computer to the specified restore point. Select another restore point and try to perform the restoration again."

:( :confused: :(

05-19-2005, 09:59 PM
format!, start from scratch, sounds like a virus a friend had! :)

05-19-2005, 11:03 PM
Yeah best thing to do with stuff like that is to reinstall your OS. The "select another restore point" I've always found to be a waste of space because if one restore point becomes corrupt, they all do because of the way that the restore points are saved.