...

View Full Version : Computer Reboots Itself



pjleonhardt
04-21-2005, 02:33 AM
Hey...
I've just recently switched my computer over... getting a new mobo, case/ps and gfx card..

Still using old processor, ram, and HD

The problem is, that my old computer used to randomly reboot itself. I though it might be a problem with the Powersupply, but clearly that must not be the case.
Now I'm thinking it might be the RAM? A memory allocation error or something? I'm not sure.
I'm usually not doing anything special when it reboots.. On this instance about 2 minutes ago, I had AIM and yahoo open with itunes playing in the background.. Wasn't even using it, the computer was sitting as I was doing some homework and bam, it reboots.

Any thoughts?

JamieR
04-21-2005, 02:45 AM
What's it actually doing apart from rebooting? is it stating any on screen warning messages related to processes or anything? have you removed any viruses/worms/trojans/adware/spyware/bho objects?

If all software errors have been eliminated, then it could be caused by RAM, but I doubt it as most memory errors are detected at the POST when you start your pc up rather than in windows.

Also, whats the spec?

Jamie.

pjleonhardt
04-21-2005, 03:50 AM
There are no error messages at all. It is in the middle of whatever, and then it just reboots itself normally as if I had just turned it on.

I havent recently removed anything, though I do regular checks for spy/adware/virii.

I'm thinking it might just be windows mishandling the memory or something. Not quite sure.. its a 1.8Ghz P4. Win XP Home. 512MB DDR RAM. Anything else you need? It cant be the mobo/ps since I just replaced those and its still doing it.

oracleguy
04-21-2005, 04:28 AM
It cant be the mobo/ps since I just replaced those and its still doing it.

Don't be so sure, that kind of problem does sound like a motherboard type problem. Motherboards are the component most likely to fail or be DOA. I've seen faulty mobos cause random restarts before, if you can, try another power supply and if it still does that, it could be the mobo.

JamieR
04-21-2005, 01:11 PM
I say that the motherboard could be faulty, as I had a similar problem on my laptop a while back - it kept on turning itself off after a few seconds. In the end I had to get the motherboard replaced under warranty - your motherboard should have some type of warranty on it, so I would replaced it..if it still happens after that :eek: then could be a ram problem or something..

Did you make sure that you used protection against anti static damage when you installed the board?

craigt56
04-21-2005, 02:00 PM
Heat could also be the problem. Run your computer with the cover off and see if things improve. A bad fan, poor air circulation or a hot room can really cause a computer to nut up on you.

JamieR
04-21-2005, 02:04 PM
Heat could also be the problem. Run your computer with the cover off and see if things improve. A bad fan, poor air circulation or a hot room can really cause a computer to nut up on you.

Maybe Maybe....but what if it was happening when he was running the pc cold ~ i.e. soon after he started it up?

I leave my laptop on for god knows how long every day and it gets bloomin' hot, but it doesn't crash or anything....:D

pjleonhardt
04-21-2005, 03:05 PM
My point about it being a new mobo is that my computer was doing the exact same thing before I switched mobo and powersupply. My case is kept between 78F-82F degrees (go go gadget heat probe).

Fortunately this doesnt happen all that frequently (maybe once a month?). Which means I can't really borrow someone elses powersupply or mobo and I don't have any extras lying around (except for my old ones).

JamieR
04-21-2005, 03:24 PM
My point about it being a new mobo is that my computer was doing the exact same thing before I switched mobo and powersupply. My case is kept between 78F-82F degrees (go go gadget heat probe).


Could be a heat problem, but you reinstalled windows xp when you changed motherboards because of the HAL yeah?

I have one of my desktop pcs running atm and the case thermometer is reporting a case temp. of 79F but it's running stable...it isn't that hot I guess.

This is what I'd do:
Add extra cooling if it is getting too hot,
check the RAM in another machine, and if it prooves to be dodgy, then replace I'd replace it.
Run the pc bare..so just the graphics card, mobo, processor and ram to see if is stable then, if not, then test parts in other machines and replace them as necessary.

Unit
04-21-2005, 07:46 PM
If you are using the same processor, you probably are using the same heat sink+cooler for it. I have seen PCs reboot within minutes from cold boot because of heat. This can happen in seconds too if the conduction to the heat sink from the processor is bad. I would take out the heat sink off the processor, apply new thermal paste liberally and reseat it on the processor.

JamieR
04-21-2005, 07:49 PM
If you are using the same processor, you probably are using the same heat sink+cooler for it. I have seen PCs reboot within minutes from cold boot because of heat. This can happen in seconds too if the conduction to the heat sink from the processor is bad. I would take out the heat sink off the processor, apply new thermal paste liberally and reseat it on the processor.

Maybe, but I thought that when a PC has a thermometer installed and some type of heat regulation equipment, when the computer gets too hot it would shutdown rather than restarting. That's what I've seen anyhoo.

pjleonhardt
04-22-2005, 01:00 AM
yes, most computer will auto shut down if the CPU overheats to avoid frying it. I'm home now, so I'm going to check out some of this stuff and get back to you guys.
Thanks for all your help so far.

JamieR
04-22-2005, 01:13 AM
OK ~ one quick question.
Does the problem ever occur when the computer is running cold ~ i.e. within 1/4 hr of you first starting it up?

little_toaster
05-19-2005, 10:05 PM
if overheating; :thumbsup:

I had a similiar problem with a p4, are u using bog standard fan / heatsink?

if so try a replace..

is it making it past post?
how many beeps?



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum