...

View Full Version : Would this imac be good for me?



yamoo
04-19-2005, 01:32 AM
'Ello chums!

I'm gonna be getting a job soon :)
I might be getting an imac after I save up some money.

And I would like to know if it's right for me:
I mostly use my PC for listing to music, photoshop, surfing the web, and making 3D models. (No serious renderings.) and some video editing.


The PC I got now is a real clunker...
1 ghz 32 bit (Locks up all the time & crashes occationaly. not exagurating)
256 MB RAM
15 GB HDD
15 inch screen


The mac I would like to get is the imac G5.
1.8 Ghz (All apps for mac are 64-bit, right?)
2 GB RAM
160 GB HDD
21 inch screen


So, how well do you think the imac would do for me?

JamieR
04-19-2005, 02:01 AM
The mac I would like to get is the imac G5.
1.8 Ghz (All apps for mac are 64-bit, right?)
2 GB RAM
160 GB HDD
21 inch screen


So, how well do you think the imac would do for me?

'lo dude,

that spec is sweet - it would do fine for what you would use it for, and would be dead reliable as well as fast and stable. In terms of video editing, it would do fine (unless your Geoffers with his Powermac G5:p)

Jamie.

yamoo
04-19-2005, 02:50 AM
Thanks for replying weazel! :)
Would you happen to have an imac?

JamieR
04-19-2005, 03:05 AM
nope :mad: - I got a crappy old Powerbook G3 that doesn't work and a whole assortment of windows pcs that do work :p

I want a Powerbook G4, but would have to save up for a few years, and then the G5 Powerbooks would be out :eek:

One thing to - you might want to get a bigger hard disk, as 160GB isn't the biggest around and if you are going to do video editing, then space fills up quite fast :D

Jamie. :)

gsnedders
04-19-2005, 03:11 AM
An updated iMac G5 is going to be announced in a couple of days, so you'll probably be able to get 2GHz G5 for the same price, also don't bug RAM from Apple, it's overpriced. I recommend crucial and install it yourself (read: when buying 4GB RAM for the PowerMac the saving is over 1000).

As for apps being 64-bit, they are not. You've got to remember the Mac Mini, iBook and PowerBook are still 32-bit.

yamoo
04-19-2005, 05:28 AM
Thanks :)



Does the G5 support 64-bit?

Whats the encryption level in the file vault?

Last question (I think)
How many windows apps can the mac run? like in an emulater or some thing...

JamieR
04-19-2005, 01:50 PM
Thanks :)



Does the G5 support 64-bit?

Whats the encryption level in the file vault?

Last question (I think)
How many windows apps can the mac run? like in an emulater or some thing...

The Apple Powermac G5 has 64 bit processors. With a emulator (like Microsoft Virtual PC 7) you can run windows programs off your Mac, but I heard the Graphics support from VPC is low compared to a real PC. If I was using a mac full time, I would get the mac versions of everything that is available for windows (if Mac versions existed). I would use VPC for windows programs that didn't have mac versions ;)

Jamie.



EZ Archive Ads Plugin for vBulletin Copyright 2006 Computer Help Forum